Welcome to SP!  -
Areas & RangesMountains & RocksRoutesImagesArticlesTrip ReportsGearOtherPeoplePlans & PartnersWhat's NewForum

A Question about Garmin GPSs

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
 

A Question about Garmin GPSs

Postby neghafi » Sat May 01, 2010 8:08 am

Hi there.
I want to know if anyone has an experience about next generation Garmin hand helds. I've not good experience about Garmin Colorado 300 (Power consumer, cease to function).
I want to know about Garmin Oregon. I'm not sure that Touch-screen hand helds are good devices to use in extreme weather condition while mountaineering. Any experience about?
User Avatar
neghafi

 
Posts: 196
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:42 am
Location: Tehran, Tehran, Iran
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post

Postby Moni » Sat May 01, 2010 2:38 pm

I have the Garmin Vista HCx. Long battery life, small size, color screen, high sensitivity chip that gets readings under canopy (inside buildings as well). Allows averaging before storing a waypoint, which increases precision. Half the price of the models you mention. I have had mine for over a year and am happy with it. It has the digital compass and altimeter. The altimeter did not work well initially, but since I upgraded the receiver via direct download from Garmin's website, those problems have gone.
User Avatar
Moni

 
Posts: 2242
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 11:15 am
Location: Spokane, Washington, United States
Thanked: 4 times in 3 posts

Postby neghafi » Sun May 02, 2010 6:40 am

Moni wrote:I have the Garmin Vista HCx. Long battery life, small size, color screen, high sensitivity chip that gets readings under canopy (inside buildings as well). Allows averaging before storing a waypoint, which increases precision. Half the price of the models you mention. I have had mine for over a year and am happy with it. It has the digital compass and altimeter. The altimeter did not work well initially, but since I upgraded the receiver via direct download from Garmin's website, those problems have gone.

eTrex Vista HCX is great but you know it's unable to use raster maps (Google maps) and just can read Garmin topo-maps. I live in Iran and there is no topo-map to use. So I prefere to use next generation of garmin's hand-helds to be able to use map of any location. if there is a map, then Vista HCX is great. thanks anyway
User Avatar
neghafi

 
Posts: 196
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:42 am
Location: Tehran, Tehran, Iran
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post

Postby harryquach » Sun May 02, 2010 9:09 am

I just got the Dakota 10 and so far I love it I used mountaineering in sierra last weekend and it worked perfectly the touchscreen is excellent I would recommend this unit
User Avatar
harryquach

 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 6:23 pm
Location: San Diego, California, United States
Thanked: 7 times in 7 posts

Postby neghafi » Sun May 02, 2010 1:54 pm

is it OK use a touch screen hand held with gloves? I mean in winter we need gloves and we need GPS too.
User Avatar
neghafi

 
Posts: 196
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:42 am
Location: Tehran, Tehran, Iran
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post

Postby Moni » Sun May 02, 2010 3:55 pm

neghafi wrote:
Moni wrote:I have the Garmin Vista HCx. Long battery life, small size, color screen, high sensitivity chip that gets readings under canopy (inside buildings as well). Allows averaging before storing a waypoint, which increases precision. Half the price of the models you mention. I have had mine for over a year and am happy with it. It has the digital compass and altimeter. The altimeter did not work well initially, but since I upgraded the receiver via direct download from Garmin's website, those problems have gone.

eTrex Vista HCX is great but you know it's unable to use raster maps (Google maps) and just can read Garmin topo-maps. I live in Iran and there is no topo-map to use. So I prefere to use next generation of garmin's hand-helds to be able to use map of any location. if there is a map, then Vista HCX is great. thanks anyway


The HCX supports an SD chip, so you should be able to upload maps to it.
User Avatar
Moni

 
Posts: 2242
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 11:15 am
Location: Spokane, Washington, United States
Thanked: 4 times in 3 posts

Postby harryquach » Sun May 02, 2010 6:34 pm

The touchscreen does not work with gloves so if you need to use it in the winter another unit may work better
User Avatar
harryquach

 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 6:23 pm
Location: San Diego, California, United States
Thanked: 7 times in 7 posts

Postby neghafi » Sun May 02, 2010 7:39 pm

Moni wrote:
neghafi wrote:
Moni wrote:I have the Garmin Vista HCx. Long battery life, small size, color screen, high sensitivity chip that gets readings under canopy (inside buildings as well). Allows averaging before storing a waypoint, which increases precision. Half the price of the models you mention. I have had mine for over a year and am happy with it. It has the digital compass and altimeter. The altimeter did not work well initially, but since I upgraded the receiver via direct download from Garmin's website, those problems have gone.

eTrex Vista HCX is great but you know it's unable to use raster maps (Google maps) and just can read Garmin topo-maps. I live in Iran and there is no topo-map to use. So I prefere to use next generation of garmin's hand-helds to be able to use map of any location. if there is a map, then Vista HCX is great. thanks anyway


The HCX supports an SD chip, so you should be able to upload maps to it.


Hey dude There is no Garmin topo map of IRAN in the shop ;)
User Avatar
neghafi

 
Posts: 196
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:42 am
Location: Tehran, Tehran, Iran
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post

Postby neghafi » Sun May 02, 2010 7:41 pm

harryquach wrote:The touchscreen does not work with gloves so if you need to use it in the winter another unit may work better

I think the same but please have a look to this
http://www.anatolyivanov.com/prose/en/AI.7.00150/
and this
http://www.anatolyivanov.com/prose/en/AI.7.00159/

This guy says it's ok to work with gloves. I'm not that sure! do you?
User Avatar
neghafi

 
Posts: 196
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:42 am
Location: Tehran, Tehran, Iran
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post

Postby harryquach » Sun May 02, 2010 8:21 pm

I tried it with my gloves and it did not work
User Avatar
harryquach

 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 6:23 pm
Location: San Diego, California, United States
Thanked: 7 times in 7 posts

Postby Diego Sahagún » Sun May 02, 2010 11:43 pm

neghafi wrote:
Moni wrote:
neghafi wrote:
Moni wrote:I have the Garmin Vista HCx. Long battery life, small size, color screen, high sensitivity chip that gets readings under canopy (inside buildings as well). Allows averaging before storing a waypoint, which increases precision. Half the price of the models you mention. I have had mine for over a year and am happy with it. It has the digital compass and altimeter. The altimeter did not work well initially, but since I upgraded the receiver via direct download from Garmin's website, those problems have gone.

eTrex Vista HCX is great but you know it's unable to use raster maps (Google maps) and just can read Garmin topo-maps. I live in Iran and there is no topo-map to use. So I prefere to use next generation of garmin's hand-helds to be able to use map of any location. if there is a map, then Vista HCX is great. thanks anyway


The HCX supports an SD chip, so you should be able to upload maps to it.


Hey dude There is no Garmin topo map of IRAN in the shop ;)

I don't know if Moni is talking about downloading Google maps for Vista. Anyway, have you checked that one :?:

https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?pID=11023
User Avatar
Diego Sahagún

 
Posts: 14476
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2001 6:21 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain
Thanked: 502 times in 460 posts

Postby Yury » Mon May 03, 2010 7:13 am

neghafi wrote:Hey dude There is no Garmin topo map of IRAN in the shop ;)
In a previous century I was making raster GPS maps by processing scanned topo maps etc. with the help of OziExplorer.
Depending on a format of Garmin raster GPS maps, it should be possible to use a similar approach for any area without readily available electronic maps.
User Avatar
Yury

 
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 9:49 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts

Postby MoapaPk » Mon May 03, 2010 7:35 am

Yury wrote:
neghafi wrote:Hey dude There is no Garmin topo map of IRAN in the shop ;)
In a previous century I was making raster GPS maps by processing scanned topo maps etc. with the help of OziExplorer.
Depending on a format of Garmin raster GPS maps, it should be possible to use a similar approach for any area without readily available electronic maps.


http://www.garmin.com/garmin/cms/cache/ ... fragment-2
User Avatar
MoapaPk

 
Posts: 7577
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 7:42 pm
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Thanked: 730 times in 470 posts

Postby neghafi » Mon May 03, 2010 7:37 am

harryquach wrote:I tried it with my gloves and it did not work

I really needed to know this because it's an important isue. Thanks. what was your GPS model? Oregon or Dakota?
Last edited by neghafi on Tue May 04, 2010 10:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
User Avatar
neghafi

 
Posts: 196
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:42 am
Location: Tehran, Tehran, Iran
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post

Next

Return to Gear

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

© 2006-2013 SummitPost.org. All Rights Reserved.