best harder day-hikes/summits if I'm new to Sierras

Regional discussion and conditions reports for the Golden State. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the California Climbing Partners forum.
no avatar
sershe2

best harder day-hikes/summits if I'm new to Sierras

by sershe2 » Thu Apr 09, 2015 5:12 pm

Hi.
I have not done any hikes in the Sierras and I want to do a lot this season.
One thing is, unless absolutely necessary for acclimatization due to low start, I really want to do everything car to car.
Let's say my final goal would be Whitney via MR car to car, after sleeping at Whitney Portal.

I wonder what is the good progression of hikes (class 3 and below) to do, esp. for getting used to elevation?

Closeness to SF is also a concern but I realize all the good ones are going to be far... not a problem with car to car ;)
I was thinking about starting with Alta Peak, Conness peak?

Physical conditioning wise, the last thing I did was Half Dome last weekend, took about 3.5h from trailhead parking to cables, 8h total roundtrip incl summit laziness and 1-2-mile John Muir trail detour. I did feel the effects of elevation there, though, compared to WA hikes that I did in the past that start at 800'.
Altitude is the main problem; I've never been higher than around 11k before.

seano

Re: best harder day-hikes/summits if I'm new to Sierras

by seano » Fri Apr 10, 2015 4:09 am

Coming from the Bay and wanting to avoid higher elevations, the Desolation Wilderness and other SPS peaks around Tahoe would be good. If you want a bit of a Washington experience, you could try Goat from Kings Canyon -- thousands of feet climbing out of a valley, then a little scramble on top. Conness is pretty short, and the most enjoyable routes require some low-5th-class scrambling. Lyell might be a good choice in the area.

If your goal is Whitney, doing Langley first (and spending some time camped at its trailhead) would be a good way to prepare, though it's just a slog.