Climbing Harness.

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
CastillejaMiniata

Climbing Harness.

by CastillejaMiniata » Wed Feb 23, 2011 6:54 am

Hi all,

Please excuse a "newb" asking a certainly well-worn question. I'm looking for something versatile, comfortable, and under $100 (preferably well under $100). I have extensive long-distance trail experience and have summited about 15 14'ers (a few of which were in winter) Gannett Peak, and some of the Northwest volcanoes, among others. I'm looking to get all of the 14'ers (I know, such a trite goal) in Colorado and CA. I'm also looking to get Hood (turned back once at Pearly Gates in late summer because of rockfall and vertical ice) and Rainier soon. I plan to learn how to rappel this spring when I move to Durango from Colorado Springs, having good access to canyon country. I want to rappel in order to have an "easy" time of descending class 4 routes on 14'ers. And obviously I want to be roped to someone on a climb like Rainier.

So which harness(es) would best suite my near future? And perhaps I wouldn't mind spending a little extra in order to have long-term versatility. I have more glaciated peaks on my mind for the more distant future. Thanks.

no avatar
Franky

Re: Climbing Harness.

by Franky » Wed Feb 23, 2011 7:26 am

for everything you've said, get a black diamond alpine bod. You don't sound like you'll be spending much time in hanging belays, and you probably won't be catching any whippers. Ease of entry and lightness are your most critical concerns, the alpine bod is unbeatable in both of those categories. It is also just about the cheapeast harness you can buy. If you get into more technical rock climbing, it will serve its purpose for awhile, but you'll want to pick up something more comfortable for hanging in before too long. Either way, the Alpine Bod will still make a great harness for mountaineering.

drpw

by drpw » Wed Feb 23, 2011 7:47 am