Easier Swiss Alps for Solo climber

Regional discussion and conditions reports for Europe. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Europe Climbing Partners section.
no avatar
dobson156

Easier Swiss Alps for Solo climber

by dobson156 » Wed May 30, 2012 9:50 pm

Hi,
I am hoping someone could point out some Mountains in Switzerland that are 'easy' enough to solo, I have some experience climbing on my own and with parties, but I am going on my own due to having a very specific time window.

Basically I am fine with snow, rock and ice but want to stay away from Glaciers if I can at all help it. I would also rather not do anything to technical F & PD- is ideal.
I am also fine using mountain huts or anything like that.

Thanks.

Pecloz

Re: Easier Swiss Alps for Solo climber

by Pecloz » Thu May 31, 2012 12:39 pm

you have a very specific time window? when and where......its a small country but some geographical obsticles can extend journey times and make certain options impractical depending on where you are, when and your mode of transport.

mvs

by mvs » Thu May 31, 2012 1:01 pm

You should do the hike from Zermatt to Chamonix (or the other way). It's amazing. I wrote about it here, and Steph Abegg did it too (google for that).

no avatar
dobson156

by dobson156 » Thu May 31, 2012 2:12 pm

Pecloz wrote:you have a very specific time window? when and where......its a small country but some geographical obsticles can extend journey times and make certain options impractical depending on where you are, when and your mode of transport.

Between now and the 10th, I am ready to go.

Plane, train and foot.

no avatar
dobson156

by dobson156 » Thu May 31, 2012 2:18 pm

Also I should add I would really quite like to summit something ideally in the 3000's, and ideally have some snow to deal with.

desainme

by desainme » Thu May 31, 2012 2:19 pm