Welcome to SP!  -
Areas & RangesMountains & RocksRoutesImagesArticlesTrip ReportsGearOtherPeoplePlans & PartnersWhat's NewForum

First lead of the day

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.

Postby Joe White » Mon Sep 06, 2010 6:50 pm

Thanks DMT....that was really good to read.

Thanks for sharing :)
Joe White

Postby dan2see » Mon Sep 06, 2010 9:46 pm

I've done only a few leads anywhere. So as a beginner, every lead experience is an uncomfortable mix of internal fears and external skills.

So I've refused some leads, even though I knew the only thing in my way was my own mind.
And I've jumped onto some leads, even though I knew my confidence was merely bravado.

Funny thing is, while I am climbing above my pro, I feel pretty good. Maybe it's because of the focus, but actually it's responsibility, and control of the situation.

As a beginner, I am still fighting my own mind. That's harder to do than anything else.
So I take a longer view: next summer I'll lead "most" of the routes I can climb. And I'll love it!
dan2see

Postby albanberg » Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:30 am

Thanks Dingus, this is really an interesting post. I really like hearing about the psychology of climbing.
albanberg

Postby Moni » Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:34 am

I can SO relate to that. Since I rarely lead, I am an anxiety ridden mess most of the time. I do find when I do go first, I am much better. Problem is, I suck at climbing hard stuff, much less lead.
Moni

Postby woodsxc » Tue Sep 07, 2010 6:16 pm

Hooray for blogging about laps at the crag in the general forum.
woodsxc

Postby Hotoven » Tue Sep 07, 2010 6:35 pm

Good to hear what I always thought down in text by another climber. I'm fairly new to rock climbing, but having lead a bunch of routes, (all different levels) it is mainly a head game that you have to win to be productive. Sometimes its easier to lead stuff at your limit then it is a new route at a lower rating.
Hotoven

Postby skier25 » Tue Sep 07, 2010 7:24 pm