How did you learn to climb ice?

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
Flattlander

How did you learn to climb ice?

by Flattlander » Wed Jun 29, 2011 1:52 am

This is a question for ice climbers out there: How did you learn? How did you get to the point where you could go out and climb waterfalls and gullies? Classes? More experienced friends? Just doing it?

The reason I ask is that I started learning last winter by taking classes. It was great experience, and I learned a lot and climbed some cool stuff in a controlled environment, with a guide on the sharp end. Then winter ended. I'm now thinking about this upcoming winter and asking myself, "How the heck am I going to continue my ice climbing education? I have no friends who climb ice, and I still have a lot to learn."

As I think about what my next move should be, I'm interested in hearing your stories.
Last edited by Flattlander on Wed Jun 29, 2011 2:41 am, edited 2 times in total.

ExcitableBoy

Re: How did you learn to climb ice?

by ExcitableBoy » Wed Jun 29, 2011 2:29 am

I met a friend in college with similar inexperience as myself. We taught ourselves how to climb by reading Freedom of the Hills and then going to the crags to pratice. We did this with waterfall climbing as well, daring each other up leads. This is not the fastest way to learn.

Looks like you are in a good spot for waterfall climbing with your proximity to New Hampshire and Lake Willoughby, maybe put up partner wanted ads in the local gear shops, college outing clubs, internet forums etc. Be upfront about your training and experience and offer to belay and drive experienced partners who would be willing to lead.

no avatar
mconnell

by mconnell » Wed Jun 29, 2011 3:54 am

A couple of experienced friends/acquaintances taught me what little I know.

SKI

by SKI » Wed Jun 29, 2011 2:38 pm