Level of Training?

Discussion of medical or rescue topics related to climbing and mountaineering.

How much/what kind of medical training to you have?

WFA
20%
WFR
13%
W-EMT
20%
EMT-P
13%
RN
7%
MD
13%
Huh?
13%

Total votes : 15
philoparts

Level of Training?

by philoparts » Tue Apr 24, 2012 5:33 am

Curious to know here how many people have any wilderness/backcountry medical training. I started training with my local EMS in Alaska when I was in high school, then did a 16 hour first aid/cpr course in college. After about 18 years of no further training or refresher, I did WFA in February last year, WFR in June, then finally W-EMT this January-February. A big motive for training was after I quit smoking about 2 years ago, I got back into hiking and mountaineering. I kept running into people in the backcountry that to me seemed ill prepared. People who where hours from even the closest vehicle who maybe had a water bottle and nothing else. I figured, if I was better trained and was willing to carry the first aid gear, I could help those less prepared and it morphed from there. So, what kind of training does everyone have in emergency medicine?

Also, if you feel like it, tell me about who you trained with and what kind of experience you have.

e-doc

Re: Level of Training?

by e-doc » Mon Apr 30, 2012 12:37 am

Family physician with experience in ER, community health and urgent care. Completed NOLS Wilderness Upgrade for the Medical Professional, participated in rescues, fractures (including my own), hypo/hyperthermia, altitude sickness. ER experience with snake envenomations, fractures and multisystem trauma. Take a stethoscope and duct tape into backcountry, and a small kit with epinephrine, bandaids, moleskin etc. Also a PLB.

The following user would like to thank e-doc for this post
philoparts

Sierra Ledge Rat

by Sierra Ledge Rat » Tue May 01, 2012 4:05 pm

EMT-Basic 1992
W-EMT 1993 (Pitkin, Colorado)
Residency-trained emergency physician 1998