Welcome to SP!  -
Areas & RangesMountains & RocksRoutesImagesArticlesTrip ReportsGearOtherPeoplePlans & PartnersWhat's NewForum

New Editor Feedback & Bug Reports

Suggestions and comments about SummitPost's features, policies, and procedures. Post bugs here.
 

Re: New Editor Feedback & Bug Reports

Postby Josh Lewis » Wed Feb 13, 2013 8:43 pm

Montana Matt wrote:
Catamount wrote:(should have read Josh's post above)


Matt Matt... Always trying to figure it out on your own before looking at the evidence folks give you. :wink: It makes your job harder.
My Websites: Alpine Josh · Alpine Ascent · AceMaps
User Avatar
Josh Lewis

 
Posts: 2303
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:12 pm
Location: Lynnwood, Washington, The Cloudiest Place on Earth, United States
Thanked: 499 times in 330 posts

Re: New Editor Feedback & Bug Reports

Postby Montana Matt » Wed Feb 13, 2013 9:23 pm

Josh Lewis wrote:Matt Matt... Always trying to figure it out on your own before looking at the evidence folks give you.

I just saw the problem posted and went to look for it assuming the rest of the posts in the thread were other issues too. Not ignoring evidence, just not reading enough before starting the investigation :)
User Avatar
Montana Matt
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1142
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Ashland, Oregon, United States
Thanked: 342 times in 185 posts

Re: New Editor Feedback & Bug Reports

Postby Alpinist » Wed Feb 13, 2013 10:14 pm

Montana Matt wrote:@Alpinist: Open it up in the new editor and take a look at how the HTML is cleaned up:
Code: Select all
<table border="1" cellpadding="2"><tbody><tr bgcolor="lightgrey"><td align="left"><font color="000066"><b>Store Name</b></font></td><td align="center"><font color="000066"><b>Location</b></font></td><td align="center"><font color="000066"><b>Description</b></font></td></tr><tr><td align="left"><font color="000066"><br>
<br>
<a href="http://www.acmeclimbing.com"></a>ACME Climbing</font></td><td align="center"><font color="000066">Spokane, WA</font></td><td align="center"><font color="000066">Camping, climbing, footwear, snowsports, more</font></td></tr><tr><td align="left"><font color="000066"><br>
<br>
<a href="http://www.alaskamountaineering.com"></a>Alaska Mountaineering and Hiking</font></td><td align="center"><font color="000066">Anchorage, AK</font></td><td align="center"><font color="000066">Camping, climbing, clothing, footwear, snowsports</font></td></tr><tr><td align="left"><font color="000066"><br>
<br>
<a href="http://www.alpenglowgear.com"></a>Alpenglow</font></td><td align="center"><font color="000066">Orono, ME</font></td><td align="center"><font color="000066">Camping, climbing, clothing, footwear, snowsports</font></td></tr><tr><td align="left"><font color="000066"><br>

I'm not sure what is causing the root of the problem because I haven't experimented with it at all. But Josh's guess about the non-closing of the <font> is a good one. As is the fact that none of the hrefs have double quotes around the URL.

Matt/Josh, thanks for your guidance. I got rid of the font tags for each cell and replaced them with the <table color> tag. However, when I added double quotes to the URLs within the table, for some reason it adds "http://www.summitpost.org" to all of the links when you click on them. For example, if you click on REI.com, it takes you to "www.summitpost.org/www.rei.com", which obviously doesn't exist... The quotes work fine for the links at the bottom of the page but not the URLs that are contained in a table.

For now, I omited the quotes for the URLs in the table. That's the only way it seems to work.
User Avatar
Alpinist

 
Posts: 6005
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Kildeer, Illinois, United States
Thanked: 665 times in 445 posts

Re: New Editor Feedback & Bug Reports

Postby Montana Matt » Wed Feb 13, 2013 10:48 pm

Hi Alpinist,

I edited that page and put quotes around the first few URLs so you can see what needs to be done to clean it up a bit. Not sure what you were doing to make it link to summitpost.org, but my guess is that there was a trailing "/" somewhere that was causing the issue.
User Avatar
Montana Matt
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1142
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Ashland, Oregon, United States
Thanked: 342 times in 185 posts

Re: New Editor Feedback & Bug Reports

Postby Scott » Thu Feb 14, 2013 8:06 pm

I am having some serious issues with my trip report!

http://www.summitpost.org/a-return-to-t ... aya/838418

Neither editor works. Please help.
User Avatar
Scott

 
Posts: 7478
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2003 1:03 pm
Location: Craig, Colorado, United States
Thanked: 604 times in 325 posts

Re: New Editor Feedback & Bug Reports

Postby Scott » Thu Feb 14, 2013 8:11 pm

Update:

I deleted everything and am starting over from cut and paste. Is there any way to use the old editor without having it add all this extra code stuff while adding photos? Trying to do something simple like add captions ruins the whole reports. If one typo is present it arranges all the photos/text and you can't go back and fix it like you used to.
User Avatar
Scott

 
Posts: 7478
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2003 1:03 pm
Location: Craig, Colorado, United States
Thanked: 604 times in 325 posts

Re: New Editor Feedback & Bug Reports

Postby Montana Matt » Thu Feb 14, 2013 8:50 pm

Scott wrote:Is there any way to use the old editor without having it add all this extra code stuff while adding photos?

I'm guessing you mean the "new editor" where you say "old editor" in this sentence? And no, there currently isn't a way to do that. The HTML inserted into the page when an image is inserted is needed so that it is WYSIWYG.
Scott wrote:Trying to do something simple like add captions ruins the whole reports. If one typo is present it arranges all the photos/text and you can't go back and fix it like you used to.

I need a little more information Scott and, preferably, an example of the problem. I've not had any problems adding captions.
User Avatar
Montana Matt
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1142
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Ashland, Oregon, United States
Thanked: 342 times in 185 posts

Re: New Editor Feedback & Bug Reports

Postby Scott » Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:17 pm

I'm guessing you mean the "new editor" where you say "old editor" in this sentence?


No.

When I go into old editor, I am getting this:

<div align="center" class="image" style="width: 506px;"><a href="/thamserku/833072"><img alt="Thamserku" height="375" width="500" src="/images/medium/833072.JPG"></a>
<span class="caption">Thamserku finally breaks through the clouds.</span></div>

Instead of this:

[img:833073:aligncenter:medium:Sunset on Ama Dablam from Tengboche.]

I'm guessing that once you use the new editor once, it reverts everything to the former, even when using the old editor.

I need a little more information Scott and, preferably, an example of the problem. I've not had any problems adding captions.


I should have screen shot it, but I'll explain the best I can. I was going to leave it the way it was to get some help fixing, but I just ended up reposting everything.

Something I did in the new editor (and I don't know what) caused the entire rest of the trip report to show up as a photo caption. I went in to try and edit this and when I couldn't figure it out, it deleted the photo. In turn, rather than keeping all the photos in their proper sections, it shifted all of them into the next section up.

In the past, the old editor, the same thing would happen if there was an invalid photo id (typo) in one of the image tags, i.e., [img:833073:aligncenter:medium:]. Once the image tag was fixed in the old system, all photos would then display in their proper locations (this is what I meant by I couldn't go back and fix it like I used to be able to do). This time, using the new editor, the shift took place (from whatever I did) and even when I reverted back to the old editor, it physically moved all the photos into the wrong section.

I tried to cut and paste them into the proper sections (old editor), but something was causing most of the report to show up as a photo caption. I couldn't see anything different in the long code that caused this, so I dumped all the photos and copy/pasted much of the text and started over.

Does that explain anything? Sorry I didn't screen shot it. Any idea what happened (whatever initially happened, it did so when I was trying to add a photo caption)?

Thanks Matt.
User Avatar
Scott

 
Posts: 7478
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2003 1:03 pm
Location: Craig, Colorado, United States
Thanked: 604 times in 325 posts

Re: New Editor Feedback & Bug Reports

Postby Montana Matt » Thu Feb 14, 2013 11:36 pm

Scott wrote:No.

When I go into old editor, I am getting this:

<div align="center" class="image" style="width: 506px;"><a href="/thamserku/833072"><img alt="Thamserku" height="375" width="500" src="/images/medium/833072.JPG"></a>
<span class="caption">Thamserku finally breaks through the clouds.</span></div>

Instead of this:

[img:833073:aligncenter:medium:Sunset on Ama Dablam from Tengboche.]

I'm guessing that once you use the new editor once, it reverts everything to the former, even when using the old editor.

That's correct. In order to by WYSIWYG, the new editor has to convert all of the image tags to HTML. Once you save with the new editor, the image tags are gone.

What you asked was:
Scott wrote:Is there any way to use the old editor without having it add all this extra code stuff while adding photos?

The old editor doesn't add any "code stuff" (aka HTML) when inserting images. It only works in image tags. So the answer to that question is yes, you can always use the old editor to add images without having to work in the HTML. But if you want to preserve the image tags indefinitely, you cannot open a page created with the old editor and then save it with the new editor. All the image tags will be gone after that point.
Scott wrote:I should have screen shot it, but I'll explain the best I can. I was going to leave it the way it was to get some help fixing, but I just ended up reposting everything.

If you're going to post here to report a bug, it's best to leave it in it's buggy form so that I can take a look and see what is causing the problem.
Scott wrote:Something I did in the new editor (and I don't know what) caused the entire rest of the trip report to show up as a photo caption.

Weird. I know that cursor location is extremely important when inserting images. Perhaps you had the cursor somewhere is shouldn't have been when you inserted a new photo and it that caused that. Or, if you edited the raw HTML, you accidentally deleted the closing </div> to the caption, thus making the rest of the document be inside that div. Either way, those things are fairly easy to fix by looking at the raw HTML if you know what you're looking for.

Sounds like a lot of extra work. If you have a similar problem, feel free to post here for help. I can probably figure it out in a minute or two.
User Avatar
Montana Matt
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1142
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Ashland, Oregon, United States
Thanked: 342 times in 185 posts

Re: New Editor Feedback & Bug Reports

Postby Josh Lewis » Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:06 am

Not sure if this is possible, but an undo button would really come in handy. I haven't needed one yet, but I'm sure I'll stumble across cases where it would be nice. I'm sure many folks would use it. The JCK editor I suggested in the past has this feature. :wink:

As for Scott and everyone else... all right, I'll get working on the better styling for transitioning from the new editor to the old. What will this do? Make it easier to find the old editor button and make it look nice. Let me think on this.
My Websites: Alpine Josh · Alpine Ascent · AceMaps
User Avatar
Josh Lewis

 
Posts: 2303
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:12 pm
Location: Lynnwood, Washington, The Cloudiest Place on Earth, United States
Thanked: 499 times in 330 posts

Re: New Editor Feedback & Bug Reports

Postby mrchad9 » Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:16 am

Undo buttons are usually pretty complicated based on my understanding. Requires a whole new process to track every single change as it is made, and remember all of them.
User Avatar
mrchad9

 
Posts: 4200
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 12:01 am
Location: San Ramon, California, United States
Thanked: 1214 times in 823 posts

Re: New Editor Feedback & Bug Reports

Postby lcarreau » Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:36 am

Ummm ... I have a Bug Report ...

Image

Actually, you guys are doing great ... please keep up the fine work!
User Avatar
lcarreau

 
Posts: 4055
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 10:27 pm
Location: Court of the Crimson King, Arizona, United States
Thanked: 900 times in 677 posts

Re: New Editor Feedback & Bug Reports

Postby rgg » Fri Feb 15, 2013 1:26 pm

Josh Lewis wrote:Not sure if this is possible, but an undo button would really come in handy.


Ctrl+Z works fine as UNDO, and Ctrl+Y as a REDO. I don't know how big the redo buffer of the editor is, but you can undo (and redo) several actions. And since the editor has the functionality, adding buttons for it shouldn't be all that difficult. Whether we want them or not, that's a whole different question. Personally, I don't find them necessary. But then again, I've stored all these frequently used shortcuts in the back of my head somewhere...
User Avatar
rgg

 
Posts: 441
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 7:15 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Thanked: 98 times in 78 posts

Re: New Editor Feedback & Bug Reports

Postby distressbark » Fri Feb 15, 2013 4:59 pm

Montana Matt wrote:
Matt Lemke wrote:when you resize a photo (say down to 200px) the photo gets compressed and looks blurry (trust me this does happen)

It shouldn't happen in any modern browser. Can you show me an example?


Montana Matt, check out my route page that I'm trying to reformat using the new editor: http://www.summitpost.org/view_object.php?object_id=463934&confirm_post=7. Scroll down about half way and look at the vertical photo on the right titled "Cracker Peak (L) & Mount Siyeh (R)". I believe the photo inserted at a default width=500px; when I changed it to 300px, the photo showed up very, very blurry on the page. Thanks for looking into this.
User Avatar
distressbark

 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 8:55 pm
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Thanked: 4 times in 3 posts

Re: New Editor Feedback & Bug Reports

Postby Montana Matt » Fri Feb 15, 2013 6:13 pm

Josh Lewis wrote:Not sure if this is possible, but an undo button would really come in handy.

rgg wrote:Ctrl+Z works fine as UNDO, and Ctrl+Y as a REDO. I don't know how big the redo buffer of the editor is, but you can undo (and redo) several actions. And since the editor has the functionality, adding buttons for it shouldn't be all that difficult. Whether we want them or not, that's a whole different question. Personally, I don't find them necessary. But then again, I've stored all these frequently used shortcuts in the back of my head somewhere...

Ctrl + Z and Ctrl + Y do usually work, but there are some cases where they don't. I'll look into adding undo/redo buttons to the editor today.
distressbark wrote:Montana Matt, check out my route page that I'm trying to reformat using the new editor: http://www.summitpost.org/view_object.p ... irm_post=7. Scroll down about half way and look at the vertical photo on the right titled "Cracker Peak (L) & Mount Siyeh (R)". I believe the photo inserted at a default width=500px; when I changed it to 300px, the photo showed up very, very blurry on the page. Thanks for looking into this.

Looks like you inserted the image with the old editor and used the "small" size image. Then edited the page with the new editor and increased the size. Thus the actual size of the image inserted is 134 x 200 (134 pixels wide). By increasing the size to 300 px, you're stretching the image larger than it actually is, thus making it look blurry.

By default all images in the new editor are inserted at medium size. And while it's possible to increase them larger, in practice it's not a good idea because they'll appear blurry like your image.

To fix your image you can do one of two things:
1) Edit the raw HTML by clicking the button on the far left side of the new editor or by using the old editor. Look for this
Code: Select all
src="/images/small/463877.JPG"
and change it to this
Code: Select all
src="/images/medium/463877.JPG"

2) Using the new editor, delete the image and reinsert it and then specify the width at 300px.

Let me know if you'd like help doing it or if you have more questions.
User Avatar
Montana Matt
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1142
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Ashland, Oregon, United States
Thanked: 342 times in 185 posts

The following user would like to thank Montana Matt for this post
distressbark

PreviousNext

Return to Site Feedback

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

© 2006-2013 SummitPost.org. All Rights Reserved.