Newbie with questions on Katahdin.

Regional discussion and conditions reports for the Eastern US. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Eastern US Climbing Partners section.
no avatar
Fatherof2

Newbie with questions on Katahdin.

by Fatherof2 » Thu Aug 21, 2014 6:09 pm

Hi Gang,

I am going to be hiking Mt. Katahdin on September 13th with my 9 year old son. Just a few basic questions. I have very little experience.

1. Is there running water at Chimney Pond? I am staying in a lean-to on Saturday night. Hoping to be able to re-fill the water bottles at the camp site.

2. About how long of a hike is it from the parking lot to Chimney Pond. (For slow inexperienced hikers.)

3. Are mosquitoes a big issue in mid September? Do I need a net? What is the best way to handle that?

4. I am planning on renting a back pack and sleep pads from REI. Should I get a stove too? Any good meal suggestions? My son is picky.

Any other input or advice is appreciated!

Thank you,

David

Tools_Incoming

Re: Newbie with questions on Katahdin.

by Tools_Incoming » Sat Aug 23, 2014 10:31 pm

Hey- enjoy the trip. I did Katahidn last year in August and loved it.

(1) (IIRC) I swear that I remember there being a well and a pump that we filled up at. I don't remember for sure, though.

(2) It's not long per say, but its river rock most of the way...which is a pain on your ankles and makes for non-consistent progress IMO

(3) In August we didn't see too many mosquitos, but we got destroyed by the black flies. They got everyone and were the worst part of the trip. Once you get above tree line they more or less disappear, but below tree line you are just inundated with them. Horrendous.

(4) If you want to cook, gonna need a stove. That being said, if you both can subsist on power bar sort of stuff and snacks then you might be ok without it.

What route you are taking up and down? We planned for the Knife's Edge but got rained out...

Bark Eater