Optimizing single boots for colder weather

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
Sangye

Optimizing single boots for colder weather

by Sangye » Fri Sep 04, 2015 7:08 pm

I'm new to mountaineering, and just bought my first pair of leather single boots -- sized up Scarpa Mont Blancs (technically my second pair, as I bought a lightly used pair of La Sportiva Nepal Evos that I had to return because they were too tight in the toebox).

My feet tend to get cold easily, and I am a little worried about taking them up Mt. Adams (WA) this Fall with lows in the teens and 20s, and Shasta / Glacier Peak / Baker / Rainier next spring. I climbed Shasta in July with hiking boots on a warm weekend, and my feet got cold while my companions all said they were fine.

My question is pretty general: do people have suggestions for optimizing the warmth of single boots?

For socks, I have SmartWool Merino Liner socks and SmartWool Mountaineering Socks.

Are extra insulated socks like the Lorpen T3+ Expedition worth it when using single boots?

How about supergaiters or overboots?

96avs01

Re: Optimizing single boots for colder weather

by 96avs01 » Fri Sep 04, 2015 8:47 pm

Have you tried a VBL sock in conjunction with your wool socks?

Woodie Hopper

by Woodie Hopper » Fri Sep 04, 2015 9:56 pm

A couple thoughts here:

Other than choosing the right boot for the mountain & conditions, fit is key. In other words you might get the fit right with the socks you wear at the outfitter, and then wear warmer, thicker socks on the mountain and actually get colder b/c the fit is then tighter causing reduced circulation to your toes.

I like custom inserts for warmth and comfort. You might come across Intuition liners that some talk about for colder climbs. If you want some of these or something similar, it's always best to buy them first and try the boots on with them inside since the fit may require upsizing the boots sometimes by 1/2 size.