Please Help for a research

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
neghafi

Please Help for a research

by neghafi » Wed Nov 18, 2009 6:32 am

Hi everybody
I've got an email from a friend managing a research about climbers. His research may lead to solve some social problems that climbers may have with their family and firends about their sense and fear of dangers in mountains.
I answered the questions myself and forwarded it to all my friends. Because we live in Iran, I though his target is just Iranian mountaineering community, but when I saw him and asked about, he said there's no limit and every one may help him. So I thought here may be a good place to gather information. This is the Email I got:

Dear Sir,

My name is Mehrdad Shahlaie, 39 years old, married and has two children. I am interested in mountain climbing, the member of Damavand club, Tehran , Iran . I have ten years experience of mountain and rock climbing.

I am doing a research about the problem of mountain climbers' family. While they are away their family is worried about them. So, I have some questions about this subject and the effect of this to their relations. If you like, please answer them:

1. Is your family aware of the dangers of this field and if the answer is yes, do they try to stop you or persuade you to change your field or …?

2. Did you participate in any training course in your field, if the answer is yes, does your family know about this?

3. What is their opinion about the efficiency of your training course in your security? And if they think it is efficient, to what extent?

4. If your family becomes worried, what will they do? (call friends, police,…)

If you have any suggestions or opinions about this subject, I would be delighted to know. Thanks for your time and attention.

Yours Faithfully,

Mehrdad Shahlaie