These guys have been really busy stealing photos from SP

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
Mike in Czech

Re: These guys have been really busy stealing photos from SP

by Mike in Czech » Mon Apr 04, 2005 9:03 am

Sorry, didn't mean to imply that having the note on the picture "creates" the copyright. It's just a good way to clarify immediately that a picture is not in the public domain.

Dave or others, if you need an attorney in the Slovak Republic, let me know. I'm an attorney in the Czech Republic and we work with a very good law firm in the Slovak Republic on a regular basis.

- Mike in Czech

Nelson

by Nelson » Mon Apr 04, 2005 9:50 am

I did a quick search and less than 2 minutes came up with <a href="http://eponce.ashundar.co.uk/photos.htm">this site</a>. It has at least one of my photos, improperly labelled, and others I have seen from SP. There is a lot of this going on, no doubt,

Fred Spicker

by Fred Spicker » Mon Apr 04, 2005 1:13 pm

Almost every time that I have found one of my photos being used on a site, a FRIENDLY email to the party involved has resulted in either me being properly credited (which is all I ask) or the removal of the photo.

The only place that I ever had a significant problem was at SP - in the early days. In fact, my stolen photo was how I found the site.

fieldtouring

by fieldtouring » Mon Apr 04, 2005 1:23 pm

Fred,
these guys are commercial expedition operators, or at least wannabees, they knew exactly what they were doing in stealing them. If they are prepared to use such tactics to promote their own (as yet untested) commercial expeditions, then I neither beleive it has been done inadvertantly, or that a simple please will have any effect. At any rate last word on this topic, it is not this boards problem.

Corax

by Corax » Mon Apr 04, 2005 3:18 pm

on my way to the flight
answer to the elf's question: palic
gotta run!!!
It's dangerous to be right when the government is wrong. Voltaire