Kili Route - Rescue?

Regional discussion and conditions reports for Africa. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Africa Climbing Partners section.
cabouckaert1

by cabouckaert1 » Mon Nov 12, 2007 11:07 am

Presumably the Marangu route is the safest and the one where you have the best chance of a quick rescue. This is the shortest, easiest, and most touristic route. I think it is also the route that is located closest to the nearest city. I'm not an expert though, never been, but I'm planning on climbing it this summer.

-charles

divnamite

by divnamite » Mon Nov 12, 2007 2:13 pm

Doesn't that route give you the shortest time for acclimatization? If that's the case, it probably causes more problems than the rescue factor. As far as I know, most problems on kili is the AMS, so this route increases possibility of AMS by lack of acclimatization time. Why not just go for a longer route that diminishes your chance of AMS?

pyerger

kili

by pyerger » Mon Nov 12, 2007 5:43 pm

About two years ago, me and five others climbed Kili. We all reached the summit, I think mainly because we took the machame route. We took an extra day, 7 days instead of 6,. that really helped with the acclimation. I think acclimation would be the biggest factor, in summiting. There are so many people on the mountain (Guides with radios) That it didn't seem,rescue would be an issue, on any route.

Alpinist

by Alpinist » Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:19 pm

There is supposedly a rescue team at the park entrance and at each of the huts. I didn't see them as we didn't stay at the huts.

I climbed Kili via the Machame Route earlier this year. It is very scenic. Most people take an an extra day to climb it that way which helps with acclimatization. We actually planned for an 8-day trip because 1 member of the team had never been at high altitude before. However, everyone felt strong and so we ended up summiting on the 6th day and hiking out on day 7 as is the norm.