Cordillera Blanca?

Regional discussion and conditions reports for South America. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the South American Climbing Partners section.
emiller1

Cordillera Blanca?

by emiller1 » Thu Aug 14, 2008 6:37 pm

How much time would be needed for succesful 6000m peak trip and what sort of cost would be associated with one. This isn't anything that i will be doing anytime soon but is more of a long term goal that i am trying to research and come up with a approximate cost. I have lots of experience to gain first here in the states but want to be able to do something like this before i am 45, only 30 now. This would be a guided trip. thanks for all the help and recomendations.

Niederbayer

by Niederbayer » Thu Aug 14, 2008 8:03 pm

if it is just for the sake of bagging a 6000m peak - Huayna Potosi in Bolivia and the vulcanos in Southern Peru (Coropuna/Ampato etc) would be way easier

emiller1

by emiller1 » Thu Aug 14, 2008 8:29 pm

I was thinking of buying this book Brad Johnson: Classic Climbs of the Cordillera Blanca can anyone out there recomend it?

sharperblue

you bet!

by sharperblue » Thu Aug 14, 2008 9:17 pm

that's a terrific book: a great intro to the CB, including (very) basic topos, gear requirements by peak and approach info. rather purdy, too..

Haliku

Re: Cordillera Blanca?

by Haliku » Thu Aug 14, 2008 10:32 pm

emiller1 wrote:How much time would be needed for succesful 6000m peak trip and what sort of cost would be associated with one. This isn't anything that i will be doing anytime soon but is more of a long term goal that i am trying to research and come up with a approximate cost. I have lots of experience to gain first here in the states but want to be able to do something like this before i am 45, only 30 now. This would be a guided trip. thanks for all the help and recomendations.