San Gabriel Mountains - Fire Season

Regional discussion and conditions reports for the Golden State. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the California Climbing Partners forum.
Luciano136

by Luciano136 » Tue Sep 01, 2009 10:49 pm

fatdad wrote:Everyone's been saying that the fire is fueled by brush that hasn't burned in 40 yrs. That's a long time for fuel to accumulate.

I'm not an expert on this but why haven't they done controlled burns over the past years? Too difficult?

Having the Waterman area burn to the ground would indeed be a big loss. It's a beautiful area. Not to mention, if it rains next winter, I can see ACH being washed away once again.

Sean Kenney

by Sean Kenney » Tue Sep 01, 2009 10:57 pm

Wow. Smoke is pushing eastward. I can make out Mt Lukens again. Between here and there is still a large plume of smoke, as well as many small ones. I don't think any houses burned in that area but it looks like it came right down to tha last fire road. Will be a sight to see when this is all over. I think most of Lukens burned.

I am so glad I moved.

Luciano136

by Luciano136 » Tue Sep 01, 2009 11:00 pm

Well, I just looked at the latimes' map and if they are correct, the fire is very close to Mt Waterman, meaning it is indeed possible Newcombs is gone :(

Also: ""The Mount Wilson webserver has gone down, most likely due to a backfire infiltration of a pull box containing telephone lines that bring us our T1 internet service. The will be no more updates from the Towercam, the last one being upoaded at 13:49:06""

Looks like we might lose the observatory as well :(

cbuelow

by cbuelow » Tue Sep 01, 2009 11:07 pm

Luciano136 wrote: Not to mention, if it rains next winter, I can see ACH being washed away once again.

Not to mention that when the Santa Anas do blow, unless it has rained first and caused massive mudslides, all that ash is going to get blown away and dumped on everything from there to Catalina...