Beginners on Orizaba and Izta?

Regional discussion and conditions reports for Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Mexico Climbing Partners section.
no avatar
whiteknuckles

Beginners on Orizaba and Izta?

by whiteknuckles » Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:05 pm

I'm just wondering if there are routes on Izta and Orizaba that are suitable for physically fit beginners whose only previous experience is some winter camping, figure 8 knots and climbing 30 to 100 foot indoor climbing walls ranging up to 5.7? In other words I'm next to a complete beginner. Would it be advisable for me to attempt, guided of course, Orizaba and/or Izta?

lasvegaswraith

by lasvegaswraith » Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:35 pm

I would suggest you post some fitness data about yourself and any hiking experience you have to help the SPers advise you. Have you hiked w/ a heavy pack? What is the highest altitude you have been?
The indoor rock wall doesn't really coorelate, as the standard routes on both mtns do not have any real technical sections.

Woodie Hopper

by Woodie Hopper » Sat Oct 03, 2009 6:18 pm

In this case (guided only) yes if you: 1) are very fit 2) can confidently self-arrest with an axe and 3) allow adequate time and smaller peaks for acclimatization.

I think the best idea would be to go to Rainier or Shasta for example first before tackling a 17k+ or 18k+ glaciated peak.

Woodie
Last edited by Woodie Hopper on Sun Oct 04, 2009 3:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Woodie Hopper

by Woodie Hopper » Sat Oct 03, 2009 6:29 pm

Also even though Ixta doesn't have much in the way of a glacier anymore on the standard route, it's a very long day and possibly two if you use a higher hut. You will spend a lot of time over 14k feet and altitude and physical fitness are therefore serious issues here. If you haven't done an all-day hike before at altitude, I wouldn't consider it. Do you have any experience with rockpiles over say, 12k feet?

Woodie