Las Vegas area peaks, Sunday 4/18

Regional discussion and conditions reports for the Great American Southwest. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Southwest US Climbing Partners section.
Marmaduke

by Marmaduke » Tue Apr 06, 2010 1:38 am

Thanks MoapaPk, cp0915 & brianhughes. I think the most logical, from what you've all given me is that I'll go to Moapa Peak early morning, then drive and do Turtlehead and North Peak. Sunday morning Windy Peak. If it's easier as in saving time in terms of just slogging, I'll finish Turtlehead and then drive closer to North. Sounds like the best plan. Anf if there's no time for North, then I'll fan that one.

MoapaPk

by MoapaPk » Tue Apr 06, 2010 1:46 am

Neophiteat48 wrote:Standard rental car, low clearance. Exertion, I feel have pretty good stamina and alot of will power. Exposure, I guess I can't say untill I'm faced with it. I'm a newbie, so I'm not sure, easy class 3 is fine but the exposure part is another story. I'm very competitive, if that means anything.

You read my comments on the Moapa Peak road conditions?
The exposure on the "knife edge" of Moapa Peak drives many back. It's 3400' of hard elevation gain. If you do manage to get to the trailhead, have plenty of water.

Marmaduke

by Marmaduke » Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:08 am

MoapaPk wrote:
Neophiteat48 wrote:Standard rental car, low clearance. Exertion, I feel have pretty good stamina and alot of will power. Exposure, I guess I can't say untill I'm faced with it. I'm a newbie, so I'm not sure, easy class 3 is fine but the exposure part is another story. I'm very competitive, if that means anything.

You read my comments on the Moapa Peak road conditions?
The exposure on the "knife edge" of Moapa Peak drives many back. It's 3400' of hard elevation gain. If you do manage to get to the trailhead, have plenty of water.