Moderate DAKs trad

Regional discussion and conditions reports for the Eastern US. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Eastern US Climbing Partners section.
Autoxfil

Moderate DAKs trad

by Autoxfil » Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:52 am

I'm going to be in the Rt 9 corridor this weekend, and I am looking to climb some rock.

The problem is, I'm not very good at it. 5.6 or easier, PG or better. Short approaches a must (not hours), multi-pitch preferred.

I have the book, and here's what I was thinking - comments? More climbs I should consider?

Weissner on Upper Washbowl
Right Notion on Chapel Pond Gully Cliff
Mosehead and redrum on Beer Walls

Alpinisto

by Alpinisto » Thu Sep 09, 2010 1:29 pm

Dunno how your slab skills are, but both the Regular Route and Empress on Chapel Slab go at 5.5, though the Reg. Route at least (I've not done Empress yet) is a little runout in sections.

Approach is about two minutes from when you park the car on the shoulder of Rt. 73 and there are a couple tent sites near the base of the climb, if you don't have other accomodations.

Autoxfil

by Autoxfil » Thu Sep 09, 2010 1:33 pm

I forgot to mention I'm trying to avoid slab because my partner is recoveing from a wicked foot break and it pains him on slab more than jugs.

lost_in_nj

by lost_in_nj » Thu Sep 09, 2010 1:35 pm

Alpinisto wrote:Dunno how your slab skills are, but both the Regular Route and Empress on Chapel Slab go at 5.5, though the Reg. Route at least (I've not done Empress yet) is a little runout in sections.

Approach is about two minutes from when you park the car on the shoulder of Rt. 73 and there are a couple tent sites near the base of the climb, if you don't have other accomodations.

If I remember correctly the Empress Route is a LOT more runout than the regular route. So if you have a choice, do the Regular Route.

welle

by welle » Thu Sep 09, 2010 5:39 pm