Food for the high country?

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
no avatar
MountainMan38

Food for the high country?

by MountainMan38 » Tue Oct 12, 2010 2:03 pm

I am new to packing and preparing meals in the high country. I wanted to know what kind of foods other than dehydrated meals that are easy to prepare and light to pack. Any links or articles would be helpful. Feel free to list some of the meals you prepare while on the mountain. Thanks in advance.

Arthur Digbee

Re: Food for the high country?

by Arthur Digbee » Tue Oct 12, 2010 2:35 pm

One easy and cheap option is to buy prepackaged foods (like Hamburger Helper -- but I much prefer other brands). That gives you a pasta or rice base, spices, and the ability to add whatever meat or veggies you want. They're usually one-pot meals, which is convenient in the backcountry.

For fancier stuff, check out Backpacker magazine.
OCCUPY SUMMITPOST !

The following user would like to thank Arthur Digbee for this post
Deltaoperator17

no avatar
MountainMan38

by MountainMan38 » Tue Oct 12, 2010 2:49 pm

Some really good ideas. I think I will have to keep the beer at home though, but that does sound good after a nice hard climb. LOL. Although I have been told that beer and some hard liquers do wonders to cure altitude sickness. I don't know if that is true or not. Thanks for the great food ideas, keep them coming.

WingLady

by WingLady » Tue Oct 12, 2010 3:06 pm

Ichiban Ramen -- far more calories than Top Ramen, and it tastes a lot better (IMO)

5-minute Cous-Cous -- boil water, remove from stove, pour in cous-cous and flavor packet and let sit for 5 minutes. Bring along a little bottle of olive oil to add more calories and give it a "richer" taste
D. Winger
The Winger Bookstore
New: Two Shadows
The Trad Guide to Joshua Tree
Highpoint Adventures
The Essential Guide to Great Sand Dunes National Park

NW

by NW » Tue Oct 12, 2010 3:14 pm