First Boots

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
no avatar
Stockwell

First Boots

by Stockwell » Sun Aug 07, 2011 3:29 am

Hey fellows summiteers, I've been a long time reader but first time poster :D

I fell in love with climbing this last winter hear in San Diego, bagging as many peaks here in the county as I could. It's now time for me to move on to bigger better mountains! I'll be buying my first pair of boots before the end of summer. I would just like to get some feedback on what kind of boots would be necessary for winter climbs in Southern California: (San Jacinto, Mount Baldy, and San Gorgonio).

I am a college student right now so my budget is not huge, but I have time to save up some money. I really know nothing about mountaineering boots so I have no idea if I will need something like these: http://www.rei.com/product/798038/scarp ... boots-mens

or these: http://www.rei.com/product/793828/la-sp ... boots-mens or http://www.zappos.com/la-sportiva-glacier-natural

I would opt for the cheaper boots (if they will be sufficient for Cali) to not over blow my budget but I would rather not spend the money on more expensive boots when I decide to move up to the Sierras or Shasta.

A few more questions of mine would be:
Would the cheaper boots be appropriate for climbs in the Sierras (Whitneys Mountaineers Route in Winter) or Mount Shasta via Avalanche Gully?
Can any crampons fit onto any boot, if not how do I know which crampons to buy with my boots?
Any tips on other gear for someone looking to sink their first spikes into some snow this winter?

Thanks a lot everybody in advance, hope to hear from many :)

Paul1

Re: First Boots

by Paul1 » Sun Aug 07, 2011 6:01 am