Strap-on crampon limitations

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
no avatar
cav14

Strap-on crampon limitations

by cav14 » Fri May 11, 2012 9:06 am

Hey all,

I've tried searching, but can't seem to find the answer I'm looking for. I have a pair of BD Serac strap-on crampons and am wondering what the limitations of those are. I'm looking into buying a new pair of boots and wonder how that will change based on the type of boot. I'm considering the Asolo TPS 520 GV, which seems like it would be pretty good with crampons, but I want a second opinion. What kind of slope could I reasonably tackle with this combination? Would getting dedicated mountaineering boots make a big difference?

FWIW I'm pretty new to this and am trying to slowly get more involved, so nothing vertical yet, but I want to keep my options open.

Thanks in advance

no avatar
spiritualspatula

Re: Strap-on crampon limitations

by spiritualspatula » Fri May 11, 2012 12:03 pm

Your strap on crampons will work on pretty much every boot that's of the right size for them, so that isn't really of any real worry for you. Strap on crampons will not, however, provide the same stability as newmatics. If you wanted that added stability, you will need to invest in a boot that has a toe and heel welt, and which has a very stiff sole. They generally aren't as pleasant to walk in, but I will vouch for my Scarpa Mantas being pretty comfortable for up to around 13 miles in a day. Beyond that, they get rough for me.

If you ever do more vertical stuff, you will not only need new crampons but new boots. If you were to get boots that are a bit of a compromise (like the Mantas) keep in mind they will not hike as nice as a normal hiking boot nor will they do steep ice nearly so well as something like a Freney ( in the same mfr line). As such, general boots vs ice/winter may be separate purchases. Expect winter/ice boots to be a good deal more.