Best First California Climb

Regional discussion and conditions reports for the Golden State. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the California Climbing Partners forum.
dman

Best First California Climb

by dman » Mon Jul 16, 2012 6:32 pm

I have limited mountaineering experience but I do have rock climbing experience. I was looking for a good first mountaineering trip in the Sierra Nevada. I will be moving from Ohio to California in October and was interested in a hike late in the month of October or early November. Any information on the area would be great, including general weather around that time and what a good first trip could be. And if anyone was interested in joining me on the trip that would be great to.

dman

Re: Best First California Climb

by dman » Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:36 am

Steve1215 thanks for the help. What kind of pro did you use for both the routes you are talking about? Any kind of prep before I go?

no avatar
Kahuna

by Kahuna » Tue Jul 17, 2012 3:07 am

If the weather holds and no snow, here are two 14ers that easily accessible yet challenging Class 2ish:

Mount Tyndall NW Ridge

White Mountain

POLUKO

by POLUKO » Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:37 am

It depends on how far you want to hike and how high you want to go. It will be cold, especially at night, and it could also be sunny and comfortable during the day. Snow is a very real possibility. Temps change very fast out here so plan for both.

If you have never been to altitude maybe try something modest, such as Telescope Peak or a short one like Baden-Powell, and you will have an idea of what it feels like. They are at around 11k where O2 is noticeably scarce. They are also not in the Sierra but kinda close. Acclimating to altitude is key to enjoying the high peaks.

If you are driving from Ohio you could spend a night in Flagstaff and hike Mt Humphreys, which is 12,600. Highest peak in AZ and a good starting point as well.