new technology warmest sleeping bag

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
no avatar
sammy

new technology warmest sleeping bag

by sammy » Mon Jun 25, 2012 10:22 am

Hello everybody!
I need your advice:
I have recently made a sleeping bag that is warmer than anything on the market. It should also take up less space and be a bit lighter than the current warmest bags (at the moment it is not lighter but after a little time and effort i think it will be). I'm very new to mountaineering so don't really know if mountaineers would actually find it useful. Are sleeping bags warm enough already?

I am thinking about taking it to a mountaineering gear manufacturer, and asking for their help to manufacture these sleeping bags, but just thought I would ask you if you would actually use it first.

The following user would like to thank sammy for this post
mhengst

ExcitableBoy

Re: new technology warmest sleeping bag

by ExcitableBoy » Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:04 pm

Climbers are interesting in anything that will reduce weight and bulk. A sleeping bag only needs to be just warm enough for the anticipated temperatures. This may be +40 F or - 40 F. My $0.02: put it in the hands of knowledgeable climbers who can give you their honest feedback. Dane1 http://www.summitpost.org/users/dane1/63774 on our little chat board here has more climbing experience than just about anybody and has a very influential blog: http://coldthistle.blogspot.com/. Gear manufactures listen to him for good reason. He has seen trends come and go and come back again. I bet if you sent him a sample he would tell you if what you have is worth pursuing.

The following user would like to thank ExcitableBoy for this post
sammy

Buz Groshong

by Buz Groshong » Mon Jun 25, 2012 4:37 pm