Late January Presidential Traverse - Conditions? Pulk?

Regional discussion and conditions reports for the Eastern US. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Eastern US Climbing Partners section.
no avatar
Acumen

Late January Presidential Traverse - Conditions? Pulk?

by Acumen » Fri Dec 21, 2012 3:42 pm

Hey,

So I am planning to do the Presidential Traverse in late January with a few people. I have done Washington this time of year via Lions Head, is that basically what I can expect the Traverse to be like?

I am considering using a pulk, more for fun/training than anything else, as I have never used one before but recently picked up some stuff to make one on a whim. I would like to do Denali in 2014 and figure getting some pulk experience is a good idea.

I would probably load the pulk with snow, or maybe use it to carry some gear for anyone who wanted to lighten their load or was going slowly. I am cautious though, because if it became a burden strapping it to my pack might be a bad idea with the wind potential. I also have never done this route, so I would not take it unless I hear from someone who has done it that it would be fine.

Plan for the group right now is microspikes and crampons, no skis or snowshoes. That sound OK?

Also wondering if people think beacons and/or probes need to be carried. (I do not own a beacon at this time, also have read that it is debatable if the beacons actually have any benefit over immediately and furiously probing but I guess that is another thread.)

divnamite

Re: Late January Presidential Traverse - Conditions? Pulk?

by divnamite » Fri Dec 21, 2012 6:33 pm

No need for a sled, but if you want, why not. Bring snowshoes just in case, also ice axe would help a lot if you ever find yourself needing to bail off some sketchy terrain.