Ski Set-up

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
skyward22

Ski Set-up

by skyward22 » Fri Apr 12, 2013 9:22 pm

I am looking for a ski set-up that will allow me more freedom in the hills. Basically, I want something that I can use as a tool to approach climbs, especially on glaciers (re: Denali, etc). I'm not as interested in actually skiing on the mountain. Just want something that is compatible with my climbing boots (Kayland M11+ soon to be Spantiks) where I can stash the skis at base camp when the climb begins. The ability to ski down snowfields would be nice, but I'm not looking to do any crazy turns or anything, just get down the mountain a little faster.

I've been climbing for 10 years but am a complete noob when it comes to skiing. I've heard the terms AT, alpine, telemark, inline, cross country, but have no idea what they mean. Educate me!

swbackcountry

Re: Ski Set-up

by swbackcountry » Fri Apr 12, 2013 10:44 pm

Tobe, opinions are like @$$holes, we all have one. Here's mine.