New climber

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
Cl4r3

New climber

by Cl4r3 » Tue May 28, 2013 10:36 pm

I'm climbing a few mountains for charity (amongst other things) we started off lightly with Vesuvius a couple of weeks ago (easy) next stop is Ben Nevis but the big one is Kilimanjaro.

I have over a year until Kili but just wondered if you have any tips at all on things to make sure I take. Also what sort of exercises are best to do before I go. I'm not the fittest of people so want to do a hardcore programme before I go to make sure I'm in top condition.

I'm new to this climbing thing but starting to enjoy it. Been watching YouTube videos about climbing Kili, some scared the life out of me, people crying, water bottles freezing (as well as cameras) -15 temperatures.

Any tips will be brilliant, want to know what I'm letting myself in for. Have started to buy little items eg. Water bottle, thermal clothes, hiking poles etc....

Just want to make sure I'm fully prepared

Thanks in advance

Tonka

Re: New climber

by Tonka » Tue May 28, 2013 11:24 pm

Hate to be cynical but charities do not make money off climbers, climbers try to climb mountains on charity.

The following user would like to thank Tonka for this post
Proterra

Cl4r3

by Cl4r3 » Wed May 29, 2013 1:07 am

I am paying for the full cost of all the trips myself. Not a single penny goes towards paying for any of climbs or other events.

I wanted to do something to raise money for a charity close to my family.

I suggest you get your facts straight before assuming anything, I came here for some advice not to be judges, think I'll go elsewhere.

MichaelRyanSD

by MichaelRyanSD » Wed May 29, 2013 4:05 am

I think he was just making a joke....relax...

Ben Beckerich

by Ben Beckerich » Wed May 29, 2013 4:11 am

Cl4r3 wrote:I am paying for the full cost of all the trips myself. Not a single penny goes towards paying for any of climbs or other events.