Mt. Meru only

Regional discussion and conditions reports for Africa. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Africa Climbing Partners section.
hikerbrian

Mt. Meru only

by hikerbrian » Tue Jun 11, 2013 2:58 pm

Hi all,

I'm leaving for Tanzania in a few weeks, and I think I'll try and get a climb of Mt. Meru in. I'm not interested in a guide service, and I have plenty of backpacking experience in the US, elevation up to 14.5k'. We're a group of 3 fit 30-somethings. Some questions:
1. Can we rent sleeping bags and a tent, or would we be better off bringing our own (which would be a hassle to cart around for the rest of our trip)?
2. Can we plan on getting a spot in the huts, or do they need to be reserved way in advance?
3. Water. I'm planning to bring a steri-pen or a filter, but are there water sources available?
4. Toileting. In my backpacking experience, I've always just found a protected spot a little ways off the trail and dug a hole. Is this possible, or are the huts the place that one should "take care of business"?
5. Does a decent map of the mountain exist? Online, all I can find is cartoony schematics.
6. We're planning to just pack our own food as if it's a regular 4-day backpacking trip anywhere else. Any reason not to do this?
7. Related question: Planning to take a Whisperlite International backpacking stove. Will I be able to find white gas/Coleman fuel?
8. Transportation. We fly in to Kili airport - is it difficult to hire a ride to the park gate?

Thanks for any and all advice. I'm sure Kili is an amazing climb, but we have neither the money nor the inclination to rub shoulders with so many people. So Meru seems like a good choice. Cheers!

davebobk47

Re: Mt. Meru only

by davebobk47 » Tue Jun 11, 2013 5:55 pm