How to get into winter 14ers.

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
no avatar
Black Elk

How to get into winter 14ers.

by Black Elk » Tue Jul 30, 2013 6:01 am

Hey guys, Im new to the whole mountaineering scene and would love to hear any advice from more experienced guys as to how to get into it. My current plan is to do some easy winter 14ers this winter. Ive done some 14ers in the summer, and most of them seem pretty straight forward. Greys, Torres, Pikes. What I have done to prepare: I have been rock climbing for 8 years, took an AMGA SPI course, I took my WFR this spring along with AAIRE level 1, and did a winter 13er in the Wind River Range WY in January this year.
Any Advice on classes, or just general tips would be much appreciated.
Thanks.

WyomingSummits

Re: How to get into winter 14ers.

by WyomingSummits » Tue Jul 30, 2013 6:24 am

mattyh wrote:Hey guys, Im new to the whole mountaineering scene and would love to hear any advice from more experienced guys as to how to get into it. My current plan is to do some easy winter 14ers this winter. Ive done some 14ers in the summer, and most of them seem pretty straight forward. Greys, Torres, Pikes. What I have done to prepare: I have been rock climbing for 8 years, took an AMGA SPI course, I took my WFR this spring along with AAIRE level 1, and did a winter 13er in the Wind River Range WY in January this year.
Thanks.

Just curious.....if you live in Littleton, then why did you come all the way up here to climb a 13er in winter? Seems as if you've done your research and prep to learn how to climb. Just get your avy forecast, do your own snow analysis when you're there, know your weather, and be in good shape. Elbert is a good one if you want safer general conditions to get used to the winter deal. A winter tent is nice if you don't want spindrift blowing in your face all night. :)

no avatar
mconnell

by mconnell » Tue Jul 30, 2013 1:43 pm

no avatar
Black Elk