Hiking boots or Mountaineering Boots

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
no avatar
mliuzzolino

Hiking boots or Mountaineering Boots

by mliuzzolino » Sat Nov 16, 2013 9:14 pm

Hi all,

I live in Tucson, Arizona and I hike year round in Keen hiking sandals. However, I am traveling to Chile and Argentina to trek around TdP and Patagonia for about 3 weeks, and I just don't think my Keens will cut it.

I am wondering if there are any great pairs of boots out there that could serve me well for both summer hiking but would also work well for mountaineering as I am a full time university student and my funding is a bit limited.

I am considering the La Sportiva Karakorum and the Salewa Rapace Mountaineering Boots, but I'm not sure if a hiking boot might be a better solution for me. I don't plan on doing much technical ice climbing, so I'm not sure exactly how aggressive of a boot I need. I am not sure that I even need a mountaineering boot.

If a hiking boot is a better solution, do any of you have any suggestions on good hiking boots that could serve me well in ice conditions (insulation, waterproof, etc)? I am also wondering how well crampons work with hiking boots. I was under the impression from a technical mountaineering course that I took that a rigid mountaineering boot is an absolute for ice travel, but I've been hearing vague stories of people using hiking shoes and crampons. Is this true?

I appreciate any advice and suggestions! Thanks. :)

no avatar
logsden

Re: Hiking boots or Mountaineering Boots

by logsden » Sat Nov 16, 2013 10:42 pm

"Not much" ice climbing can be just as limiting as "I need a technical ice boot".

Seeing as your planned trip will likely be 98% trekking and some occasional low angle glacier ice then you could easily get by with any of a number of heavier duty boots from LS, Scarpa, etc.