Can someone from AZ make sense of this?

Regional discussion and conditions reports for the Great American Southwest. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Southwest US Climbing Partners section.
MoapaPk

Can someone from AZ make sense of this?

by MoapaPk » Thu Dec 12, 2013 11:06 pm

http://www.experience-az.com/coolstuff/permitinfo.html

We wanted to go by Weaver's Needle; the summitpost entry describes "no permits for dayhiking." But people have been hassled for just being on the access road. Can AZ folks shed any light?

Thanks.

seano

Re: Can someone from AZ make sense of this?

by seano » Fri Dec 13, 2013 5:17 am

If you get out of your Jeep and hike, bike, camp or bird watch, you need a permit.

Wow. Then again, I doubt some Arizona rent-a-cop will bother you if you're a couple hundred yards from where he can drive, so just don't walk right on the road.

no avatar
coldfoot

by coldfoot » Fri Dec 13, 2013 5:58 am

I have no specific knowledge of Weavers Needle and the entries on hikearizona.com don't say anything about hassles, although there may be a parking fee at the trailhead? I don't know whose land it is on.

The State Trust Land thing has been around for a while. Some significant fraction of Arizona belongs to the State Trust which is constitutionally obligated to raise money (which is supposed to go to funding schools) by either selling off land or charging fees for use permits. See for example http://www.azland.gov/programs/natural/rec_permitFaqs.htm.