The High Tatras in February

Regional discussion and conditions reports for Europe. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Europe Climbing Partners section.
Rapparee

The High Tatras in February

by Rapparee » Wed Jan 14, 2015 11:19 am

Hello everyone. I've a holiday in February and I have been doing some research on the High Tatras, mostly from this website and what people have told me. You people are the wise ones, teach me!

My experience:

I'm a good scrambler and hiker, done a bit of lead climbing as well (nothing more than VS). I've been climbing since 2009 when I went to university but never intensively. I've been to Scotland on three occasions for winter climbing so I'm quite confident with crampons and axes. I've also spent a total of 4 weeks climbing in the Alps over the years (mostly Chamonix). The only winter time I've done in the Alps has been in Bavaria where I climbed the Watzmann.

My reason:

I live and work in Poland now and my area in Racibórz is quite flat and uninteresting. I really want to get out to the mountains more. So far all I've managed is a weekend in Karlova Studánka but in February is my first big block of holidays and I don't want to just go sightseeing and being a tourist. I don't own a car and living in a secluded location means my weekends generally don't afford me the time of travelling further afield for climbing. And living in Poland, I have to see the Tatras sooner rather than later!

My Plan:

I'm going to Kraków on the 3rd February to meet with a friend. On the 4th we travel to Zakopane, enjoy the ambience in the town, rent any kit we're missing (crampons/axes etc) and do a weather check. The 5th, we're going to head to Morskie Oko and explore around there, spending the night. Early on the 6th we want to summit Rysy (we really want to climb this) and Niznie Rysy just to the north of it. After that, we don't have a plan really. He has a few more days free, I have nearly a full extra week