Cosmique Refuge

Regional discussion and conditions reports for Europe. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Europe Climbing Partners section.
no avatar
etunar

Cosmique Refuge

by etunar » Sat Mar 07, 2015 6:00 pm

I was thinking of spending few days in this area to do a bit of landscape photography. I thought cosmique refuge would be a perfect place for me to spend 2-3 days and explore the area. From the pictures I can see, it doesn't look difficult/tricky around the hut. However pictures can be misleading so I am looking for more information whether this is a good idea or not for someone with limited experience?

I have no alpine experience, but I am not planning on doing anything other walking around the hut basically. I have some experience with winter hiking in UK with crampons.

I realized that there is a very narrow ridge to descent from Aiguille Du Midi. Since I will be on my own, how difficult is this ridge to descent? I am ok with heights, however I realize that a slip here may be fatal and I don't want to go there only to find that it's not something i can do. I tried to find more information but it is quite limited other than youtube videos. So I was hoping someone here might be able to help me?

Does it sound like something doable, or am I underestimating the area between the aiguille du midi and cosmique refuge?

Thanks

bidasking

Re: Cosmique Refuge

by bidasking » Sat Mar 07, 2015 7:52 pm

Based on the information you have provided the approach to the Cosmique refuge is too difficult for your experience level if you are solo. It's correct, a slip to the left without proper self-arrest knowledge would surely be fatal. However there are anchor posts in the ice you could abseil from for protection. More importantly however, there isn't really much terrain around the hut that you could reasonably "explore". It's an area that should be travelled while roped up, with a partner.