CA 14er for Labor Day Weekend?

Regional discussion and conditions reports for the Golden State. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the California Climbing Partners forum.
no avatar
tarushbali

CA 14er for Labor Day Weekend?

by tarushbali » Mon Aug 31, 2015 10:50 pm

Hi

Hope everyone is having a great Monday!

Labor Day is coming up and I wanted to take some time during the 3 day weekend to backpack and climb my first 14er. Wondering if it is possible to climb any of those mountains (except White Mountain Peak) since I don't have any permits? Which ones do you think are good mountains during this time of the year? I have some experience (climbed Conness last weekend, climbed Lassen NE face during the winter) but not too much. Since it's a 3 day weekend, I don't mind taking my time to reach the summit. I can camp mid-way but I can't probably do anything that is > class 3.

Thanks a lot guys!

colinr

Re: CA 14er for Labor Day Weekend?

by colinr » Tue Sep 01, 2015 12:13 am

I'm glad to hear you did Conness; of all the suggestions in your other thread, that was probably the most spectacular short hike & moderate drive option. I'd strongly consider not worrying about whether or not whatever mountain you choose this weekend happens to be a 14er, 13er, etc. Those numbers don't always equate to higher quality experiences than slightly lower summits. The other peaks & SPS peaks mentioned in the other thread are still great options. You have a few problems to consider this weekend: 1) Smoke. Where will it be and how bad will it be? I will aim to be somewhere where smoke isn't much of an issue or no issue at all. 2) Competition for backpacking permits on a crowded weekend. 3) Crowds in general. Tahoe will probably be crowded, as will easy trailheads in the Eastern Sierra. Smoke is hard to predict far ahead.