Complete Newbie, is this an achievable goal or am I crazy?

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
MissBillie92

Complete Newbie, is this an achievable goal or am I crazy?

by MissBillie92 » Wed Nov 25, 2015 7:14 pm

Hi all,

As the headline states, I'm a complete newbie to mountain climbing - I've done quite a bit of hiking through some rough Australian terrain and a little easy climbing (never needed any gear) but otherwise have no experience.

As some back story, I'm a 23 hr old female, with a pretty low fitness level in general (also about 10-15 kg over my ideal weight). I live in North Queensland, Australia and I'd like to get fit next year. That being said, I need to set my self an achievable goal that will actually motivate me to keep working or I'll just lose motivation again. I love adventure And what little climbing I've done has been awesome (climbed every hill/mountain around where I live) so I thought I'd plan a mountain climbing holiday for the end-ish of 2016.

My first plan was to climb Mt Khuiten in Mongolia. I'm open to suggestions if there's easier mountains, but I'd like something with a challenge - helps that I've always wanted to go to Mongolia (I'm a horse fan, love the culture). Can I get fit enough before August to climb this mountain? Would you recommend it? Will my complete lack of mountaineering skills be an issue (I can do some rock climbing in qld, but a mountaineering course will be an extra $2500 that I don't have.

So all up, my questions are;
Mt Khuiten, achievable?
What fitness level do I need to reach?
How would you suggest best reaching that level?
Are there any recommendations for guide/tour groups?
If no, where else?
What would you budget for this kind of trip?

nicozone

Re: Complete Newbie, is this an achievable goal or am I craz

by nicozone » Wed Nov 25, 2015 10:38 pm