***NEW, Want To Climb Denali***

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
no avatar
jadam31

***NEW, Want To Climb Denali***

by jadam31 » Fri May 27, 2016 12:16 am

Hello, new here from the Midwest and looking to start climbing. Within two years I want to climb Denali. I have some climbing experience from my military background, but not a pro. Any suggestions? Is my goal too steep for a rookie? Looking for a thoughtful discussion of how YOU started out. THANKS!

phydeux

Re: ***NEW, Want To Climb Denali***

by phydeux » Fri May 27, 2016 2:32 am

Get as much outdoor experience as you can.
- Altitude - IF you've never been up high try getting to the Rockies in the summer and hike some of the higher peaks (+13,000) to see how you react at altitude. IT takes about two weeks to get up to the 17000 ft camp, so if you are feeling OK on a high summit after just a few days of travel/hiking (and doing it a few times), you should be OK on Denali.
- Winter Conditions - TRy hiking and camping in the snow for multiple days. If you've never done this it'll be a new experience for you, even if you've done a lot in the summer months.
- Technical 'backpacking' - I thought Denali was a technical backpack, vs a true 'climb' where you had to surmount obsticles with rope and aid. TRy signing up for a week-long climbing course on a glaciated peak (Rainier, Hood, Baker, maybe Shasta) to get some experience on glaciers and ice, and with crampons, ice axe, etc.
As Puma Concolor mentioned, don't be afraid of going with a guide service. The only reservations I have of these is that they let some very inexperienced people on Denali trips (no glacier experience, no snow camping), so I didn't feel all that confident while hiking along the Kahiltna Glacier; the main 'West Buttress' route is fairly safe, but I was thankful when we came down that nothing happened (no crevase falls, etc).