Rab alpine bivy or OR helium bivy

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
no avatar
turkbrim9

Rab alpine bivy or OR helium bivy

by turkbrim9 » Thu Jul 09, 2015 10:15 pm

I need to get a bivy fot a summer mountaineering trip. I am looking for light as possible. Both of these are around 18oz. I have no experience with bivys. I would think the Rab would be a little more breathable being 3 layer event. However, it does not have a pole to keep the bivy off your face. Is this not a big deal or is it worth getting a bivy with a pole to keep it off your face? Also, the alpine bivy has no bug netting. I have read the OR bivy has a few issues with condensation, but if you vent the opening around 5 inches it helps. It seems that no matter what the material all bivys seem to have condensation issues. Anyway, any feedback would be great.

beean

Re: Rab alpine bivy or OR helium bivy

by beean » Thu Jul 09, 2015 11:31 pm

What's the goal? Region? Expected conditions?

I've got a borah gear m90 bivy. It's windproof, very breathable as it doesn't have a full face covering, and water resistant. If it's going to rain, I bring a tent or tarp.

You could probably stitch a loop above the hood of the rab bivy if doesn't have one. You can string a line from a trekking pole or axe or bit of gear to keep the bivy off your face.

no avatar
turkbrim9

by turkbrim9 » Fri Jul 10, 2015 2:51 am

Grand traverse, in Grand Teton National Park. 10 summits in 3 days. End of July. Could be near freezing at night. Daily afternoon. Storms are always possible

ExcitableBoy

by ExcitableBoy » Fri Jul 10, 2015 2:36 pm