Repelling Question for a Noob

Tips, tricks, workouts, injury advice.
gpsjake

Repelling Question for a Noob

by gpsjake » Wed Jul 14, 2010 6:17 am

I am a general contractor and I have a very unique building that I need to access various parts of the wall and I feel that repelling from the top of the building is the best solution. That said, I am very interested in what I should do for repelling gear and most importantly how to reliably tie of a repel mid-descent allowing both hands to be free and the tie off not to slip. I will then need to decend further and tie-off again.

So for I know I need a rope, harness, some clips, but what type of descender and tie off method should I use?

Thanks!

nartreb

by nartreb » Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:25 pm

Tying off mid-descent is pretty easy (clove hitch the rope to a large 'biner on a leg loop), but if you're doing any significant amount of work, you need a more comfortable setup. Talk to a window washer.

Edit: reading your post again I'm convinced you haven't rappelled before. Rappelling is generally considered the part of climbing most likely to kill you. Whatever method you end up choosing, get somebody experienced to show you exactly how to do it and don't go sailing (or abseiling) off any tall buildings until he's convinced you know what you're doing.
Last edited by nartreb on Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sierra Ledge Rat

by Sierra Ledge Rat » Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:44 pm

You're risking your life if you think that you can just buy some gear and go out and do it safely. Like nartreb said, rapelling is the most dangerous aspect of climbing.

Cavers approach vertical work differently than climbers, for a variety of practical reasons. Since I'm a caver and a climber, I recommend that you look into the caver's methods of vertical work. I think it would suit your needs and goals better than climbing equipment.

Try a place like Karst Sports.

http://www.karstsports.com/