Welcome to SP!  -
Areas & RangesMountains & RocksRoutesImagesArticlesTrip ReportsGearOtherPeoplePlans & PartnersWhat's NewForum

Report Bugs Here

Suggestions and comments about SummitPost's features, policies, and procedures. Post bugs here.
 

Re: Report Bugs Here

Postby Josh Lewis » Fri Feb 01, 2013 7:31 am

I'm sorry, but I currently do not know of any way to make the font size zoom button work in internet explorer as long as we have a set size. And we don't want everyone's font size to be tampered with because internet explorer doesn't know how to work with zooming into set font sizes.

Regarding "negative". I'm simply stating a fact of life. I even suggested a method that will make using the internet a better experience. :wink: If you can come up with a solution to make it work with IE, I'm all ears. Matt's the actual guy who inserts suggestions. I came up with most of the new CSS for the template. But most of the code was written by the owners (Matt included). I believe this problem was still present in SP V2.
My Websites: Alpine Josh · Alpine Ascent · AceMaps
User Avatar
Josh Lewis

 
Posts: 2303
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:12 pm
Location: Lynnwood, Washington, The Cloudiest Place on Earth, United States
Thanked: 499 times in 330 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

Postby Yury » Fri Feb 01, 2013 3:00 pm

Josh Lewis wrote:If you can come up with a solution to make it work with IE, I'm all ears.
I was not asking for help with IE.
I just suggested to fix a defective CSS.

Josh Lewis wrote:Regarding "negative".
It was just a joke. :(
User Avatar
Yury

 
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 9:49 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada
Thanked: 4 times in 4 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

Postby Montana Matt » Fri Feb 01, 2013 7:23 pm

ZeeJay wrote:Why are trip reports that are under construction listed on the What's New page? They don't show up when you click on trip reports on the front page though.

The What's New page doesn't take into account whether or not they are under construction when selecting which new trip reports to show. This could be changed so that they are omitted, but then a page (or TR) that took a long time to complete would never enter the "What's New" page. We could update the time submitted when someone changes the page from under construction to not under construction, but then that would mean people could continually show up in the list by simply switching it back and forth.
User Avatar
Montana Matt
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1142
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Ashland, Oregon, United States
Thanked: 342 times in 185 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

Postby ZeeJay » Fri Feb 01, 2013 9:52 pm

Montana Matt wrote:The What's New page doesn't take into account whether or not they are under construction when selecting which new trip reports to show. This could be changed so that they are omitted, but then a page (or TR) that took a long time to complete would never enter the "What's New" page. We could update the time submitted when someone changes the page from under construction to not under construction, but then that would mean people could continually show up in the list by simply switching it back and forth.


How about if the first time and only the first time a page moves from under construction to not under construction it goes on the what's new page and gets the current date. Otherwise all of the under construction pages could knock off the ones that are done and like you said, a page taking a long time would never get there. Also, if I want to update one of my pages, I'd change it to being under construction, but when I was done, I would not want it on the what's new page.
User Avatar
ZeeJay

 
Posts: 136
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 12:04 am
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Thanked: 39 times in 28 posts

The following user would like to thank ZeeJay for this post
rgg

Re: Report Bugs Here

Postby Montana Matt » Fri Feb 01, 2013 10:03 pm

ZeeJay wrote:How about if the first time and only the first time a page moves from under construction to not under construction it goes on the what's new page and gets the current date.

I could probably work that out.

Can you do me a favor? Post it as an idea here:
http://summitpost.uservoice.com/forums/ ... uggestions

I'll also make a note of it, but I'd like to have enhancements such as this one (though I suppose it could be classified as a bug) posted in the uservoice forum.
User Avatar
Montana Matt
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1142
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Ashland, Oregon, United States
Thanked: 342 times in 185 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

Postby hansw » Fri Feb 01, 2013 10:59 pm

I have several youtube links that don’t show in SP V3. Known bug?
"I wonder why. I wonder why. I wonder why I wonder. I wonder why I wonder why. I wonder why I wonder!"
- Richard Feynman
User Avatar
hansw

 
Posts: 5340
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 3:52 pm
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Thanked: 16 times in 14 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

Postby Montana Matt » Fri Feb 01, 2013 11:25 pm

hansw wrote:I have several youtube links that don’t show in SP V3. Known bug?

Probably due to HTML5. Do you have a link to a page where I can take a look?
User Avatar
Montana Matt
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1142
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Ashland, Oregon, United States
Thanked: 342 times in 185 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

Postby Buz Groshong » Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:38 am

I went to summitpost at work today and when I tried to sign in it showed my profile, but wouldn't let me sign in. I don't know what was going on. I deleted cookies and when I went to summitpost it did the same thing again. I would have posted a message here, but it wouldn't let me because it wouldn't let me sign in. Every time I clicked on sign in, it just brought up my profile. The forums did not consider me signed in. I'm now signed in at home.
User Avatar
Buz Groshong

 
Posts: 2812
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 10:58 pm
Location: Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Thanked: 676 times in 476 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

Postby Montana Matt » Sat Feb 02, 2013 4:05 am

Buz Groshong wrote:I went to summitpost at work today and when I tried to sign in it showed my profile, but wouldn't let me sign in. I don't know what was going on. I deleted cookies and when I went to summitpost it did the same thing again. I would have posted a message here, but it wouldn't let me because it wouldn't let me sign in. Every time I clicked on sign in, it just brought up my profile. The forums did not consider me signed in. I'm now signed in at home.

Next time that happens, just log out and log back in.
User Avatar
Montana Matt
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1142
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Ashland, Oregon, United States
Thanked: 342 times in 185 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

Postby reboyles » Sat Feb 02, 2013 12:38 pm

I'm seeing the best performance (ever) with editing and updates. I used to go get a cup of coffee while waiting for for a page or photo to load and sometimes it pissed me off to the point that I considered pulling my content out of here. Whatever Matt did to optimize the site was a major improvement from my neck of the net.

Thanks for all the hard work.

Bob
User Avatar
reboyles

 
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 12:28 am
Location: Boise, Idaho, United States
Thanked: 22 times in 20 posts

The following user would like to thank reboyles for this post
Montana Matt

Re: Report Bugs Here

Postby Buz Groshong » Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:28 pm

Montana Matt wrote:
Buz Groshong wrote:I went to summitpost at work today and when I tried to sign in it showed my profile, but wouldn't let me sign in. I don't know what was going on. I deleted cookies and when I went to summitpost it did the same thing again. I would have posted a message here, but it wouldn't let me because it wouldn't let me sign in. Every time I clicked on sign in, it just brought up my profile. The forums did not consider me signed in. I'm now signed in at home.

Next time that happens, just log out and log back in.


Apparently the problem was on my end. When I deleted browsing history and cookies, it was apparently not deleting everything from my favorite sites.
User Avatar
Buz Groshong

 
Posts: 2812
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 10:58 pm
Location: Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Thanked: 676 times in 476 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

Postby ywardhorner » Wed Feb 06, 2013 10:08 pm

I don't have time to read this entire thread so sorry if someone else has already reported this. Since the upgrade, I'm finding it very difficult to add or edit Mountain pages. When trying to upload/attach an image, 2 out of 3 times I end up with a blank page saying Internet Explorer Cannot Display The Page and I have to start over. Ditto when editing sections on the pages (ie. to insert an image). I either get the IE error page or a blank(ish) SP page showing just the text that normally appears at the bottom.

Running IE9 on Win 7.
Connect with me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/YWardHorner or check out my blog http://blog.yvettewardhorner.com
User Avatar
ywardhorner

 
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 1:59 am
Location: Wyoming, United States
Thanked: 29 times in 15 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

Postby Josh Lewis » Wed Feb 06, 2013 10:21 pm

Thanks for the report. Oh I hate IE. Literally most of the major issues we face is because of IE. :x Pardon my rant. :wink: Well I suppose I could do some extensive testing with IE9 this week. Not sure how much this would help, but try clearing your cache. When swapping between SP's test site and the normal one I've noticed some issues. Cleared my cache and suddenly things are working fine. :D It's one of the first things I do when testing a problem. If anyone else has this issue, please report it to us, this will make it more obvious to us that it's completely related to the entire browser itself.
My Websites: Alpine Josh · Alpine Ascent · AceMaps
User Avatar
Josh Lewis

 
Posts: 2303
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:12 pm
Location: Lynnwood, Washington, The Cloudiest Place on Earth, United States
Thanked: 499 times in 330 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

Postby Dow Williams » Wed Feb 06, 2013 10:54 pm

I am moving my beta from SP soon, so it is not a huge deal....but I still need to write and store beta until the transition...I cannot add pages to SP anymore...seems unstable to me....same issues as Ward above
User Avatar
Dow Williams

 
Posts: 2349
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2004 1:59 pm
Location: Utah and Canadian Rockies
Thanked: 219 times in 101 posts

Re: Report Bugs Here

Postby Josh Lewis » Wed Feb 06, 2013 11:08 pm

Rather than give up, why not carefully report the issues and we will do our best to fix them. Issues with Internet Explorer are less obvious to us because we don't use it much except for testing. We do inspect around with IE, but we cannot find every issue out there unless we were willing to spend more extensive hours to test every last feature of the site. But we already do this in other browsers. :? It's honestly a lot of work. Making everyone happy is not an easy job.
My Websites: Alpine Josh · Alpine Ascent · AceMaps
User Avatar
Josh Lewis

 
Posts: 2303
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:12 pm
Location: Lynnwood, Washington, The Cloudiest Place on Earth, United States
Thanked: 499 times in 330 posts

PreviousNext

Return to Site Feedback

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

© 2006-2013 SummitPost.org. All Rights Reserved.