Welcome to SP!  -
Areas & RangesMountains & RocksRoutesImagesArticlesTrip ReportsGearOtherPeoplePlans & PartnersWhat's NewForum

SP images being hosted by new server

Suggestions and comments about SummitPost's features, policies, and procedures. Post bugs here.
 

Postby MoapaPk » Mon Nov 23, 2009 12:36 am

Ugh Matt, what a PITA! I never realized this much went on behind the scenes.
User Avatar
MoapaPk

 
Posts: 7723
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 7:42 pm
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Thanked: 773 times in 505 posts

Postby rhyang » Mon Nov 23, 2009 2:05 am

I see the http://c0278592.cdn.cloudfiles.rackspacecloud.com stuff on XP running either MSIE8 or Firefox 3.5.5. Same thing on my Vista machine with Firefox 3.0.15 and MSIE8.

Strangely, with some pics the image appears in the browser window with the rackspacecloud.com URL, and with others I'm prompted to open the picture with the registered picture editor on my machine. The former behavior -

http://www.summitpost.org/view_object.p ... t_id=92822

The latter -

http://www.summitpost.org/view_object.p ... _id=403079

But only in Firefox.. MSIE8 seems to treat them both the same way. Are different batches of pics being delivered with a different content type ?
User Avatar
rhyang

 
Posts: 8963
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 8:55 pm
Location: San Jose, California, United States
Thanked: 59 times in 38 posts

Postby lcarreau » Mon Nov 23, 2009 2:13 am

MoapaPk wrote:Ugh Matt, what a PITA! I never realized this much went on behind the scenes.



Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain ...

THE GREAT OZ has spoken!

Image
User Avatar
lcarreau

 
Posts: 4059
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 10:27 pm
Location: Court of the Crimson King, Arizona, United States
Thanked: 1082 times in 810 posts

Postby Dragger » Mon Nov 23, 2009 2:47 am

Montana Matt wrote:This is happening to me as well. Strangely, if I use Craig's computer it's fine -- only on mine cannot seem to load the images. We are both running XP with IE.
I'm guessing that this is probably related. What version of IE are you using?


IE 8.0.6001.18702

Hopefully this helps.
User Avatar
Dragger

 
Posts: 2311
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 1:49 pm
Location: California, United States
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post

Postby visentin » Mon Nov 23, 2009 7:31 am

Montana Matt wrote:No matter what browser you use, the image is going to come from http://c0278592.cdn.cloudfiles.rackspacecloud.com because all of the images are hosted there now but if the image has an extension .jpg, it will be rendered in the browser. If it's has an extension of .JPG it will be downloaded to your local computer when using FireFox because the content-type header isn't being set correctly due to a problem with the script I used to upload the images to the cloud.

I'm having this problem too and cannot see any picture in full size. Does anyone know how to fix it in Firefox ? (no, I don't want to use another brower)
User Avatar
visentin

 
Posts: 1440
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 12:27 pm
Location: WrocBaw, France and, Poland
Thanked: 88 times in 58 posts

Postby Arthur Digbee » Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:33 am

FWIW, I just checked and it's still happening, at least in Firefox: .jpg opens in Firefox while .JPG opens in Windows picture viewer.
User Avatar
Arthur Digbee

 
Posts: 2284
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 2:03 pm
Location: Indianapolisish, United States
Thanked: 255 times in 173 posts

Postby rhyang » Mon Nov 23, 2009 4:04 pm

visentin wrote:
Montana Matt wrote:No matter what browser you use, the image is going to come from http://c0278592.cdn.cloudfiles.rackspacecloud.com because all of the images are hosted there now but if the image has an extension .jpg, it will be rendered in the browser. If it's has an extension of .JPG it will be downloaded to your local computer when using FireFox because the content-type header isn't being set correctly due to a problem with the script I used to upload the images to the cloud.

I'm having this problem too and cannot see any picture in full size. Does anyone know how to fix it in Firefox ? (no, I don't want to use another brower)


Here is a nasty hack which will change the file association on your machine for .jpg files to firefox -

1. Right-click on a .JPG file in Explorer; click Properties.
2. Click the 'Change' button in the Opens With section.
3. In the Open With window, select (or browse to) Firefox.
4. Now go to the image on SP and click on it -- you will get the download window. The Open With box should already have firefox selected.
5. Click 'Do this automatically for files like this ..' box. Press OK.
6. The file will download and display in a browser tab.

One side effect is that things like image preview will send the image to Firefox instead of your image editor when you click Ctrl-E (I'm sure you can think of others). You can still right-click on the image in Explorer and select Open With though ..

Hopefully this will only be temporary.
User Avatar
rhyang

 
Posts: 8963
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 8:55 pm
Location: San Jose, California, United States
Thanked: 59 times in 38 posts

Postby Dragger » Mon Nov 23, 2009 4:25 pm

Montana Matt wrote:
Dragger wrote:IE 8.0.6001.18702

Hopefully this helps.

Ok, I'm guessing that must be an issue on your end because I'm running the same setup here at home (well, almost, I have version 8.0.6001.18828) and I haven't seen any issues with images not displaying. In fact, the issue with them not being rendered by the browser when viewing the image directly isn't even existent in IE8. I'd also guess that if inline images weren't rendering for most people with IE8 we'd have a lot more reports of it.

Just a shot in the dark, but perhaps you have some setting in your browser to only allow images on a page to display if they are from the same domain (summitpost.org)? Since the images are coming from rackspacecloud.com this would cause them not to display.


Hmmmmm... it's strange -- I can see images that people link to from other sites -- does this makes sense? For example, I can see llama pictures linked in PnP :wink: but I cannot see any images hosted by SP. When I go to my own profile, everything is blank. :cry:
User Avatar
Dragger

 
Posts: 2311
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 1:49 pm
Location: California, United States
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post

Postby rhyang » Mon Nov 23, 2009 4:31 pm

Dragger wrote:
Montana Matt wrote:
Dragger wrote:IE 8.0.6001.18702

Hopefully this helps.

Ok, I'm guessing that must be an issue on your end because I'm running the same setup here at home (well, almost, I have version 8.0.6001.18828) and I haven't seen any issues with images not displaying. In fact, the issue with them not being rendered by the browser when viewing the image directly isn't even existent in IE8. I'd also guess that if inline images weren't rendering for most people with IE8 we'd have a lot more reports of it.

Just a shot in the dark, but perhaps you have some setting in your browser to only allow images on a page to display if they are from the same domain (summitpost.org)? Since the images are coming from rackspacecloud.com this would cause them not to display.


Hmmmmm... it's strange -- I can see images that people link to from other sites -- does this makes sense? For example, I can see llama pictures linked in PnP :wink: but I cannot see any images hosted by SP. When I go to my own profile, everything is blank. :cry:


Carolyn, I wonder if it's your VPN / firewall ? Maybe it's because rackspacecloud.com is blocked ? That's apparently where the pics on SP are coming from ..
User Avatar
rhyang

 
Posts: 8963
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 8:55 pm
Location: San Jose, California, United States
Thanked: 59 times in 38 posts

Postby WouterB » Mon Nov 23, 2009 8:14 pm

Have been experiencing most of the above problems for the last couple of days.
User Avatar
WouterB

 
Posts: 3134
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 4:54 pm
Location: Hayling Island, Hampshire, United Kingdom
Thanked: 13 times in 13 posts

Postby Dragger » Mon Nov 23, 2009 8:25 pm

rhyang wrote:Carolyn, I wonder if it's your VPN / firewall ? Maybe it's because rackspacecloud.com is blocked ? That's apparently where the pics on SP are coming from ..


:cry: You may be right Rob -- when I try to access that site directly I get this message:

"The Websense category "Web Hosting" is filtered."
User Avatar
Dragger

 
Posts: 2311
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 1:49 pm
Location: California, United States
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post

PreviousNext

Return to Site Feedback

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

© 2006-2013 SummitPost.org. All Rights Reserved.