Camp on New Army Pass

Regional discussion and conditions reports for the Golden State. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the California Climbing Partners forum.
no avatar
yang

Camp on New Army Pass

by yang » Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:56 am

Hi everyone,

I am going to hike to Mount Langley at this coming weekend. As a photographer, I want to take some sunrise and sunset photos on top of New Army Pass. I am thinking to camp on top of New Army Pass and summit on second day. As this will be my first time there, I am wondering what condition I would encounter.

I know there is no water up there. So I am going to take water from the lake under the pass. I assume it would be flat enough there to pitch the tent. Will it be very windy? Cold? What about marmot? Is it possible it chew up my tent?

Thanks,
Yang

colinr

Re: Camp on New Army Pass

by colinr » Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:02 pm

yang wrote:Hi everyone,

I am going to hike to Mount Langley at this coming weekend. As a photographer, I want to take some sunrise and sunset photos on top of New Army Pass. I am thinking to camp on top of New Army Pass and summit on second day. As this will be my first time there, I am wondering what condition I would encounter.

I know there is no water up there. So I am going to take water from the lake under the pass. I assume it would be flat enough there to pitch the tent. Will it be very windy? Cold? What about marmot? Is it possible it chew up my tent?

Thanks,
Yang