Bought Some Skiis, Now I need the rest

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
Paul82

Bought Some Skiis, Now I need the rest

by Paul82 » Thu Dec 10, 2009 8:36 pm

Hello, to start off, I'm a noob in the ski department. I know a little, but I'm looking for some advice from the more experienced.

I picked up a pair of used Atomic TM:X 184s for $80. I'm looking to use them for backcountry approaches, such as the Whitney MR Route. I'm looking for some bindings and some boots. I saw a guy once that had some bindings that telemarked and he could lock them down for downhill. I never asked for the name tho?

As for boots, I dread the thought of having to lug my Nepal Evos with me when we mountaineer. So can I either A.) Use a ski boot that accepts my fully mechanical crampons? or B.) Get a set of bindings that my Nepal Evos will fit into?

I would like the support of a ski boot, but also some flexibility as I would have with my Nepals when climbing.

Thanks!

Kai

by Kai » Thu Dec 10, 2009 11:21 pm

finckster

by finckster » Thu Dec 10, 2009 11:39 pm

It sounds like what you want are some randonee/AT boots and bindings. The bindings will allow you to have a free heel for ascending, but you'll be able to lock down your heel for the descents. The boots should be compatible with your crampons, and will have both "walk" and "ski" modes. You'll need skins too.

no avatar
mconnell

by mconnell » Fri Dec 11, 2009 2:25 am

Bottom line is that you aren't going to find a pair of boots that work well for both skiing and climbing. You can get bindings that climbing boots will lock into, but skiing really sucks in climbing boots. AT boots are great for skiing, but are not comfortable for climbing in. I've done some vertical ice in AT boots and that wasn't bad, but I wouldn't want to hike very far in them.

I have AT bindings that will accept both types of boots, and select boots based on what the "main" activity is going to be.