I need some advice on crampons for getting started....

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
aran

I need some advice on crampons for getting started....

by aran » Sat Jan 15, 2011 7:49 am

Hi,

I'm just beginning the winter climbing world. I've climbed, backpacked, and scrambled backcountry for years, but never in the winter. I got a little taste recently and now I'm hooked. I have sufficient clothes/tent, but need an axe, crampons. I recently found a pair of brand new Trango Extreme Evo Lights at the REI used sale for a super price and grabbed them. I'm trying to figure what the most appropriate crampons to get with them should be to get me started. One person I met recommended I buy the cheapest pair of crampons and cheapest ice axe I could find and just get started- with time I would come to know what I would prefer. So i could take that route. Or since the boots will accept it, should I go immediately to a nicer style because they're less of a hassle? Likewise with the axe (though it's easier to find previous discussions about axes).

Thanks in advance for helping someone with a lot of ignorance. While I'll start with simpler routes, I suspect I will move pretty quickly to more advanced terrain. Cheers.

Josh Lewis

Re: I need some advice on crampons for getting started....

by Josh Lewis » Sat Jan 15, 2011 9:25 am