Good Peaks for a Beginner in California

Regional discussion and conditions reports for the Golden State. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the California Climbing Partners forum.
no avatar
jddeetz

Good Peaks for a Beginner in California

by jddeetz » Sun Oct 11, 2009 7:51 pm

Greetings! I am a beginner and I was wondering if I could pull on on of your wisdom:

Are there any peaks in the winter that are conducive to learning the basics of winter mountaineering? I hear Lassen is the traditional candidate for this, but I wonder if there are any others nearby. I have crampons and ice axe ready to go but need a place to break em in.

jvarholak

by jvarholak » Sun Oct 11, 2009 8:08 pm

can't help with peaks (wrong coast) but add an experienced partner to your search to show you proper axe and pon travel technique including arrest.
i'm sure there'll be plenty of locals here to advise as to destination.
have fun...
john

phydeux

by phydeux » Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:32 pm

Where are you located in California? Your profile only says "California." Its a big state and your locality will determine what's available.

Also, anything more than "beginner"? Any experience in summer backpacking, maybe some off-trail scampering on trailess peaks?, or any basic winter camping and/or winter backpacking?

srichert

Interesting

by srichert » Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:40 pm

I was wondering something along the same lines. I have done a bit of research and it seems like Mt Emerson might be a good bet as the approach isn't horribly long and there are several 3rd, 4th and low 5th class routes up it. Also, Cathedral Peak showed up on the radar, but that will likely be saved for a non-solo effort.