Mt Elbert. Too ambitious?

Regional discussion and conditions reports for the U.S. Rocky Mountains. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Colorado Climbing Partners section.
no avatar
rulibar

Mt Elbert. Too ambitious?

by rulibar » Mon Feb 02, 2015 2:09 am

Hi, so I am a Salt Lake City resident and I hike locally quite often, but nothing super intense.

My favorite thing about hiking is the view, isolation, quietness, etc when you finally reach the end destination. I love sitting up high on a mountain and looking down at the city and breathing the fresh air and stuff.
I always look up at mountaintops around here when it's extreme weather conditions like super cloudy or snowing or raining and I think "Wow it would be so cool to be up there right now." I don't know why. My friends don't really understand, but I'm sure some of you do. I guess I just have a strong appreciation for natural beauty; something about being somewhere with an amazing view that most people will never see.

Anyways, this winter I have had a goal of climbing a mountain during extreme conditions to finally experience it. And recently, I've decided I'm going to take advantage of the low gas prices and take a road trip somewhere. Mt Elbert is naturally grabbing my attention. It's so close by, it's so epicly tall, and it's a relatively safe. I'm planning on taking this road trip during mid February.

So, my question is how experienced should someone be to hike Mt Elbert this time of year?