Palisades Region - Best Class 3 / 4 to solo

Regional discussion and conditions reports for the Golden State. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the California Climbing Partners forum.
SierraSummits

Palisades Region - Best Class 3 / 4 to solo

by SierraSummits » Fri Sep 23, 2011 3:11 am

I'm heading up to the Palisades this weekend and was planning on climbing the swiss arete on Sill, but my partner had to bail. I'm still planning on making the trip with another non-trad climbing friend who's going to sit tight at the glacier. Any recommendations on best class 3 or possibly class 4 climbs that I can solo without getting myself into too much trouble on. Right now I'm thinking the North Couloir on Sill. I'm relatively new to alpine climbing but having been up Whitney's mountaineers route (June), Hood, and Longs Peak in the past year and climb at 5.10a/b level on sport lead. Thanks for the help!

no avatar
Franky

Re: Palisades Region - Best Class 3 / 4 to solo

by Franky » Fri Sep 23, 2011 3:33 am

Middle pal, northeast face is supposed to be mega classic.

SierraSummits

by SierraSummits » Fri Sep 23, 2011 5:21 am

Thanks, though I'm taking the North Fork so logistically I'm not sure if I can swing it. It sounds like the palisades glacier is pretty mild but I'm still a little hesitant to cross it solo.
Last edited by SierraSummits on Fri Sep 23, 2011 5:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

thegib

by thegib » Fri Sep 23, 2011 5:42 am

I'd read for years that the E. Arete of Winchell was a classic class 3 and finally did it this year. My take: Very consistent exposed c3 once you're on it. A real pleasure.

SierraSummits

by SierraSummits » Fri Sep 23, 2011 5:56 am

Good idea. That sounds like a great option and probably what I'll end up doing. I really wanted to hit Sill via the North Couloir, but the class 4 section is causing some hesitation. Anyone have an opinion on the North Coulior route?

Princess Buttercup