Static rope for extending anchors past the edge.

Post climbing gear-related questions, offer advice. For classifieds, please use that forum.
no avatar
papienka

Static rope for extending anchors past the edge.

by papienka » Fri Sep 30, 2016 12:53 am

Is this a good rope for extending top rope climbing anchors past the edge of the rock? As far as I understand, the specs seem correct: 11mm, static, it claims to have "superior" abrasion resistance. I do not see as many Google hits as I would expect, though, so maybe not. What else would you recommend (other than 1-inch tubular webbing)?

https://www.rei.com/product/472262/blue ... -716-x-150

Scott
Forum Moderator

Re: Static rope for extending anchors past the edge.

by Scott » Fri Sep 30, 2016 3:39 am

Wouldn't webbing be cheaper and equally effective?

no avatar
papienka

by papienka » Fri Sep 30, 2016 6:34 am

You tell me! I'm new to this. According to the specs, the webbing below would have about the same strength and weight when doubled up. But if doubled up, price per foot would also come up just about the same (just shy of $1), whether for two strands of webbing, or for the rope. Is webbing more abrasion-resistant compared to the same weight of rope? How many strands of webbing should I use to extend the anchor?

https://www.rei.com/product/752375/blue ... e-of-30-ft

nartreb

by nartreb » Fri Sep 30, 2016 3:07 pm

Go get some cheap static line by the foot, like this one: https://www.rei.com/product/472013/pmi- ... tatic-rope

Not sure what the crags are like in your area, but 100' is plenty for me.

Sometimes that static line by the foot at REI is good stuff, but not always. The last 150' I bought immediately core shot and isn't durable. The sheath is weak. Other times I have not had that problem.

ExcitableBoy

by ExcitableBoy » Fri Sep 30, 2016 3:21 pm