Elbrus in October

Regional discussion and conditions reports for Europe. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Europe Climbing Partners section.
no avatar
thumper

Elbrus in October

by thumper » Mon Jul 15, 2019 2:16 pm

Hi all !
I am new in the forum and new to mountaineering. Last year I climbed Kilimanjaro and since then I dream of higher mountains. Basicly, my only experience is Kili + a 3000m peak in winter conditions. Aconcagua is my next target and I plan to try it in February 2020, but before that I would like to make some training on Elbrus in October (I live in Europe).
Unfortunately, I can not go earlier, so late October is my only chance this year. I plan to do it solo and I am a beginner, as I mentioned above, so I plan to take the South route. My biggest concerns are cravices and avelanches. My plan was to go there and find a budy or follow a group but since it is almost out of season, I start to doubt if there would be anyone to follow.
So here are my questions for you:
1. Are there still any climbers in late October?
2. Should I rely on trampled path since there would be not much people?
3. I read that the South route has markers to follow, but are they visible during snow storm?
4. I am really determined to do it but I don't want to be part of the statistics, so what is your general recommendation to a beginner like me?

Thanks in advance.

With my best regards,
Nikolay

cab

Re: Elbrus in October

by cab » Mon Jul 15, 2019 9:22 pm