Special rules for Aconcagua solo climbers?

Regional discussion and conditions reports for South America. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the South American Climbing Partners section.
brandon

Special rules for Aconcagua solo climbers?

by brandon » Tue Jan 06, 2009 2:21 am

Hey yal,

That pulse ox thread got me thinking. Am I in for any surprises with my plan for a Feb solo traverse of the mtn via the Polish Direct or N Face variant?

Will having documentation of any previous similar ascents, technical training, medical training etc. be required or useful?

John Duffield

by John Duffield » Tue Jan 06, 2009 9:31 pm

I'm not an expert, but if I did this again, it wouldn't be February. They were pulling down Base Camp. February is the end of season with good reason!! It's cold. I'm sure there'll be execeptions, but the main season is last half of Dec through January. I came back with first degree frostbite on 4 fingers and second degree on 6.

brandon

by brandon » Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:26 pm

thanks for the advice john. i would prefer if the whole show had packed up and left when i get there. how cold is cold? i'm comfortable climbing in -20F weather.

no avatar
dreamy

Aco Solo

by dreamy » Wed Jan 07, 2009 1:09 am

Last year climbed Aco solo in Nov. There are no special rules for doing so (anyhow don’t brag about it when getting your permit). Feb March is the other low season (cheaper permit, not many people). Temp went down to -22F, wind 81 mph for a couple of days. Hard but enjoyable. If you are well fed and hydrated, whit good clothes, there is really no reason to get frosbites. Take your time, have fun and be careful (this means: know your limits).
Dennis

John Duffield

by John Duffield » Wed Jan 07, 2009 2:01 am

Isn't the climbing in the cold, it's the nights. From the narrative I wrote after I got back.....