My Gear List for Mexican Volcanoes and other details...help

Regional discussion and conditions reports for Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean. Please post partners requests and trip plans in the Mexico Climbing Partners section.
no avatar
sneakyracer

My Gear List for Mexican Volcanoes and other details...help

by sneakyracer » Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:12 am

Hi, I have been bitten by the mountain bug and am planning to go to Mexico to Climb Iztaccihuatl and Orizaba and hopefully La Malinche and if time permits Nevado de Toluca. I am rather new to this forum community but find it an awesome resource already!

I am an avid mountain biker (and occasional road biker) I have participated in a few XC Racing seasons and also in several 12h and 24h events. Right now im in not so good a shape due to injury (deep bruised thigh) but I am recovering nicely and getting on the bike (stationary) again. I want to be ready and in shape to climb by december. I have very little climbing experience and have only hiked onced around the Mt Washington area when I was much younger and the local rainforest (3-4 times a month 5-8 mile day hikes with 1800-2200 ft elev. gains). I have been to the Colorado Rockies several times to go skiing and have not been adversely affected by altitude (highest I have been is Breckenridge Peak 8/9, 13,000 ft +-).

I dont have a ton of spare cash but have some gear. I want to know what I might take, leave behind and what I need to or should buy in regards to clothing (technical climbing gear and helmet will be rented in the country):

My current gear:

1 pair Vasque Zephyr II Hiking boots (Gore-tex), leather/fabric waterproof boots. Not too flexy

1 waterproof/insulated ski jacket with hood
1 pair waterproof/insulated aki pants (nice with integrated "gaiters" underneath)
1 Outdoor Research Credo Softshell Jacket
1 North Face Fleece jacket (pretty thick with underarm zips for vent.)