Begginer in need of help

Post general questions and discuss issues related to climbing.
no avatar
Ashers

Begginer in need of help

by Ashers » Sun Jan 10, 2010 6:02 pm

Hay guys so since trying rock climbing in the Blue Mountains and attending an indoor climbing gym a few times this year I decided to climb Huayna Potosi in Bolivia with a guide for the first time and summited ad 07:00 am just in time for sunrise!!!

It was the most amazing experience of my life and also the hardest. I'm a fitness instructor who enjoys the intense workouts style like crossfit and gym jones and realised that I just want to keep on climbing!!

Trouble is im living in the Netherlands at the moment and i need some advice from you guys.

What are the best ways for me to start climbing without a guide?

Is a 'big trip/climb' once a year enough to practice my skills whilst still develop.
I am thinking of going to Switzerland for a hiking trip in summer next year so are there any relatively easy climbs I can do without a guide that I can do alone?
Or is there anyone out there who would like to take a newbie under there wing for one climb??

In the mean time I will get 'mountaineering freedom of the hills' and probably mark twights 'extreme alpinism'

But any advice to get started or a potential climbing partner would be great!!

radson

by radson » Sun Jan 10, 2010 6:22 pm

Any particular reason you are not into guides?

In Europe. you have companies such as jagged-Globe, ISM, Icicle etc who have intro, intermediate and advanced mountaineering courses.

no avatar
Ashers

by Ashers » Sun Jan 10, 2010 6:26 pm

Well it just doesn't seem like I will progress myself very much as the guide I went with wouldnt show us how to tie ropes etc and thats the stuff I want to learn. Yeah I know a mountaineering course is the way to go just cant afford it this year.

Is there no extremely easy climbs that I can still develop some skills that only require minimal equipment?